We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and tasty dining in the Adirondack woods”

Melody Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Speculator
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Melody Lodge MelodyLodge MelodyLodgeRestaurant Melody Lodge Restaurant
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant and tasty dining in the Adirondack woods”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed in Speculator, NY a few days recently and dined twice at Melody Lodge which is old and charming and sits on a hill overlooking the countryside. It's a busy place with locals and tourists and the first night we sat by the chimney in the dining room. It was noisy due to several large tables and busy as all the waiters hurriedly passed by our table. The second night we asked for a quieter spot for two and did not get the table we were promised but did have a better experience. The menu is large and the food is good and plentiful - definitely the best place to eat in the area. The wait staff was well trained and it was cozy to be there on a rainy night. The bar is definitely a step down in atmosphere so I would avoid that location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAHBBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alburgh, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Escape”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This restaurant is located on a hillside overlooking 2 lakes. The views are awesome and the food is excellent. They also have a few rooms available as this was a music school many years ago. The rooms are named after musical instruments. Menu is extensive and delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wretched and pretentious”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We walked in for dinner for the first and last time. There wasn't a hostess stand so we looked around and found an evil old bat in a vestibule who couldn't be bothered to stand up or say hello. She informed us we'd have to eat in the bar. Fine, except we stood in there for 10 minutes without being acknowledged by several staff. As gluttons for punishment we stopped at the vestibule to tell the non-hostess we were ignored. She snapped that it wasn't her restaurant. Duh. No clue how the food is as we weren't able to get any. But if you like pretentious and obnoxious service give it a rip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, NY
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went at 5 PM on a Monday night thinking it would not be so crowded to celebrate our 46th Wedding Anniversary. Not so.

We have been Melody Lodge numerous times & this is the first time we have really been disappointed with the food & somewhat less with the experience. My wife's Shrimp Alfredo was bland & the shrimp were over cooked & tough. My Steak by George was dry & tough.

However, on the positive side, our house guests were thrilled & very happy with the special 1.5 pound Maine Lobsters & our servers were excellent & the timing was perfect.

ML comped my wife,s meal when she complained.

Big disappointment that they discontinued the Early Bird 5 PM menu.

We have never seen it so crowded. The noise level was intolerable.

We were glad to get out of there. The parking lot was over filled.

Next time we go we will go in late Fall or Winter when all of the Summer people & citidiots are no longer in the Mountains.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan Valley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A very pleasant dining experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been to Piseco and Speculator several times over the years to visit good friends, but this was our first opportunity to have dinner at Melody Lodge -- what a treat! The server was friendly and efficient; our cocktails were excellent; the menu is extensive; the marinated carrots were different and delicious. My wife and our friend ordered the fresh haddock special which they really enjoyed and I had a perfectly cooked filet with blue cheese butter and onion strings. Our salads were very good. There must have been cars from at least 20 different states in the parking lot. We really enjoyed our evening and would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling in the Adirondacks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melody Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Melody Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing