We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful site with a good meal”

Melody Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Speculator
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Melody Lodge MelodyLodge MelodyLodgeRestaurant Melody Lodge Restaurant
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful site with a good meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at the Melody Lodge Restaurant. We arrived without a reservation, got a table right away, and was served promptly and courteously. The view is beautiful of the surrounding mountains. The meal was delicious and the homemade deserts are not to be missed. Highly recommended for a good meal in the Speculator area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's good only in comparison”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice-looking place with weird multi-tiered interior design. Best thing about it is the view. The food was aggressively mediocre and way overpriced. Service was inexpert. The Adirondacks have a dearth of good restaurants, and if this is, as some reviewers say, the best in the area, then the area has a problem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RodneyZaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view and meal!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and close friends dined here during a recent vacation and were pleased to enjoy an excellent meal. My husband and I have visited there several times and always have had a good meal and this time was no exception. For a remote area, this meal was terrific and the service timely and helpful. Our party had pecan-crusted salmon, lamb chops, seafood fra diavlo and chicken parmesan. Our salads and desserts were delicious. The atmosphere is rustic and fits the surroundings well. Once again we enjoyed a terrific meal in a pleasant location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collegemom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speculator, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Visit”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant sits on a hill with fabulous views of the mountains and lakes. There is a nice porch to have your cocktails. There is a more formal dining room with a fireplace for more formal dining. There is a lounge and rooms. Then there is a pub room with a lower fare menu. The food is excellent, and Sue makes fabulous desserts. We eat there quite often. You will definitely have a good dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb48664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A charming restaurant with the ambiance of the turn of the century era, the Melody Lode is a bit of a throwback. The food is very good, but typical American fare. Prices are reasonable, service is very good, and the place is worth a stop if you are traveling through the southern Adirondack Park.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melody Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Melody Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing