We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moffitt Beach

Moffitt Beach
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Camping trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The lake was amazing and the camping was even better. Surrounded by woods all around us. Felt great!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We go here every year with a large group of family..its just so beautiful & peacful!

Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the ocean, but great day at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Nice, clean beach, and the camp sites look well tended.

Helpful?
Thank Acker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pine Air & Lots of Kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have come to Moffitt Beach since I was a baby. My Mother's family made the annual trip every summer since the 1940's. Brought my new wife here to camp in the 1980's and we make the trip almost every year. We have gone camping at other NY facilities and other states also but we miss our week at Moffitts regardless. Big beach and great swimming (especially for little ones). We have twin girls in College and they still take the time to come every year. Speculator Village is close by, small but has everything you need (check out Charlie Johns Store). Great for fresh air and boating. Helpful staff and cared for facility.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank AdirondackSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Camping for families, not people who stay up past 10pm.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just be warned, if you like to camp, sit by the fire, have a few beers and play some music with some friends, this is not the site for you... Is hard to go to bed at 10pm every night,under threat of eviction from the campsite.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank MaLaKaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moffitt Beach also viewed

 

Been to Moffitt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing