We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmoshere, Wonderful Food”

The Inn at Speculator
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Speculator
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Atmoshere, Wonderful Food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staying nearby we stopped here for dinner. I had chicken wings and coconut shrimp for appetizers. Entree was a broiled seafood platter with scallops, shrimp and haddock. All seafood tasted fresh. A lot to choose from menu. Would definitely return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shandaken, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid Casual/Fine American Dining”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in for dinner and the food/service was great. They have a HUGE menu! We ate from the main dinner menu, but there is a huge pub menu as well. Nice lake view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gazoo170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speculator, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere, Good Food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We love this place. There is a pub area, and a dining room. The food is very good. You can get full dinners, or if you want something lighter they have that too. Their specials are very good too. It is a very family friendly place. We have had several family gatherings there and the staff was wonderful. They are also very good about special requests. They do fantastic weddings and special parties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb48664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury,ct
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasent return to enjoyable dining”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pleased to report an improved dining experience at this venerable area restaurant. During high summer season last had a unpleasant dealing with the dining room manager who high hatted our group who have been guests frequently on visits over the prior 25 years. This time around little competition for a table and the welcome was from the lone waitress who was a pleasure to deal with. We had excellent appetizers and I a terrific steak , a fine specials soup and a nice desert. A good solid restaurant anywhere but given its location and easy best choice for any meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So, so bar food.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Experience was simply average. Sort of what you might expect at a worn out chain restaurant. Service as excellent, however, food was neither fresh or interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackLover1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Speculator also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Speculator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing