We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and inviting escape in lovely setting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Speculator
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Speculator B&B and Inns
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and inviting escape in lovely setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay very much. What was very nice is that the hostess, Diane, really does give you a great deal of privacy and independence. She has truly opened her home to her guests and made us feel very comfortable using the kitchen for minor niceties like hot cocoa, etc. We also felt very comfortable even outside the home. We brought our small dog as well and she was super cool concerning all aspects of having a dog at a B&B. She even "babysat" him one night while we went out to dinner rather than shutting him in our room. We would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to any sort of guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackLover1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

A wonderful fairly new bed and breakfast, tastefully decorated, delicious and filling family style breakfast, relaxed, quiet, and lakefront! Trails are available for walking and canoes for paddling.
Diane is a friendly, gracious hostess leaving home made cookies for guests!

Room Tip: The rooms on the west have a lake view to enjoy the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I go ice fishing every year on Lake Pleasant. This year we almost had to cancel due to not being able to find someone to take care of our new dog. We discovered Red Pines,a wonderful and pet friendly bed and breakfeast. When we called we spoke to Diane the owner ,a very friendly and understanding person. When we arrived ,we were not disappointed . Diane was a really nice person and the house was just magnificiant.Every morning Diane made us a really great breakfeast. Staying at the house was another very nice couple with their two children, and we were pleasantly surprised when Diane's daughter came to visit .It was just great talking to all these people.All in all it felt just like home when family and friends come over to visit. You would be hard pressed to find a house with such a beautiful view of the lake and an owner who was so friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Gorgeous location and home, but the b and b sub hostess gave us no private quiet time in the evening in the common area- she sat down with her laptop and chatted all evening. Some chat is nice, but we really wanted some alone time too- that's what b and b guests pay for- quiet enjoyment of the fire and time to talk and cuddle alone.. After waiting quite a while we gave up and went to our room.

Next morning she made breakfast in her robe and plunked down again and ate breakfast with us. Again, someone needs to tell these folks that this is not done in a paying guest environment- guests are paying for relaxation, quiet and privacy. We've stayed in many b and b's, and the owners relax and eat in their own quarters of the house, not with the guests.

They also seemed overly touchy about our pets even though we had rented the "pet friendly" room and brought our own blankets for the pets to be on.. The hostess was often correcting our pets, which became somewhat stressful for us in a "pet friendly" house.

Seemed to be a nice person, just not very professional about B & B guest etiquette..

In our opinion, place might be fine for a single person or a family, but not ideal for a couples getaway...

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblersny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Located on 50+ acres on beautiful Lake Pleasant, Red Pines was the perfect get away for us. Diane was a gracious hostess, as was Reebok (her dog) who greeted us upon arrival. The main room was warm and inviting with a fire in the fireplace, huge windows overlooking the grounds and the lake. Our room was cozy, with a very comfortable bed and a view overlooking the lake and the mountains in the distance. Diane cooked a wonderful breakfast and made suggestions of places to visit in neighboring towns. She even offered to provide us with dinner on our first night there, as we were visiting during "mud season" and many of the local businesses were shuttered. We enjoyed our visit, very much and would love to visit again some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodyandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Red Pines is run by Diane, who serves one of the best B&B breakfasts I've had. The location is quiet and beautiful, and though we didn't use it there is a beautiful, private 100 yard section of sandy beach that is part of the property. There is NO road noise. The house is clean and spacious and very comfortable.
The downsides of Red Pines are minimal, but there are some. I am not a big fan of extra firm mattresses, for 115 a night I would expect a pillow top or something softer. Also, I have been to several B&Bs, and sometimes you will run across the "family" drawer in the bedroom, or "family" items in the closet. Not a big deal for me - but I do know some people who are very turned off by this. This is the case with Red Pines, in both the shared bath and the room. (Also at least one secondary site had this listed as private baths - All three rooms share the 2 full baths of the house with the owner.) (At least one secondary site had Wi-Fi listed, she does have it, but it isn't mentioned on the Red Pines website) The lighting, etc. in one bath is a bit odd, there is a window looking out to the lake, right in the middle of the mirror. Consequently it is a bit hard to see exactly what you are doing while shaving, etc. Also ( though not a big deal for us) Diane has breakfast with her guests, and likes to say grace at breakfast, and offers to entertain your version of grace. Some people may find this too familiar, other folks may feel right at home with this.
We found Diane to be very warm and friendly and was very helpful with ideas for hiking and eating. Aside from the extra firm mattress, this is a reasonably priced B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tedley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

This facility has a no cancellation policy. They are willing to take your money with no refunds. If instances occur in life beyond your control your screwed. Only send them the bare minimum deposite and be prepared to loose it. Money is more important than people.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katiek00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queeniedc, Owner at Red Pines Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
The first time this guest cancelled at the last minute, I did not keep a deposit. The second time she cancelled the day she was supposed to arrive on a very busy weekend (I had turned away other requests), I did keep her deposit and offered to give a portion of it as credit for a future date. In six years of business, this is the only time I have kept the full amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speculator
20.7 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
20.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Red Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Pines Bed & Breakfast

Property: Red Pines Bed & Breakfast
Address: South Shore Road, Speculator, NY 12164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Speculator
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Speculator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing