We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heron Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great place to stay! The staff is so nice and VERY informative on where anything was or about it. The rooms were very clean and for two people the captin's quarter's room was perfect for us. BTW the shower rocks! There is a wonderful courtyard right outside the rooms with a deck,flowers,tables with umbrellas, and even a screened in gazebo. We brought food with us and used one of their BBQ grills to make steaks baked potates and corn on the cobb and had a great dinner out in the courtyard. We also made some really great new friends hanging there at night. The pool is a little bit of a walk, but on a 95 degree day was sooooo worth it. The location of the place was perfect. We went to the wineries that were less than 10 minuets to the west and then out to Greenport that was less than five miles to the East. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We are so glad you found the staff and their recommendations useful. It seems like you made the most of your time here and we are happy to hear that, please do stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
232 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rooms are a little small, they offer others at a higher price, but our room had the best view in the hotel, right on a marina great views, a little bit of a walk to the pool but no big deal, everything looks like it was just redone and they are still adding and renovating other spaces on the property, very friendly and helpful staff, close to wineries, and Greenport which has a lot to do and see, first trip to LI, and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: ask for the first room on the second floor, the one with the marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We appreciate the fact that you realize we are still undergoing renovations due to hurricane Sandy and hope you will let us host you again in the future so you can see our amazing finished renovation transformation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, USA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I drove up to Heron Suites knowing little else than the location, the rate, and that it was the only vacancy for miles. I left even less sure what I thought of it.

The location looks great on a map -- just a few miles from Greenport, at the tip of Long Island's North Fork. The property itself is embedded in a large working harbor. Unless you really love boats it will feel a bit industrial, especially when you walk around the building to get to the pool.

Our rate was expensive for what we got. (It was the only vacancy, so I suppose I shouldn't complain.) These suites seem new but also cheaply built and furnished, with low ceilings and uncomfortable furniture. The bed and pillows were about as hard as they get. Our unit was spotlessly clean, but it also reeked of air freshener and cleaning products -- so much so that we got a headache. The layout of the units felt a bit cramped, too. We could hear the footsteps of the family above us and conversations held outside in the small communal area.

The Heron would work if you really need the location or the space of a full suite. If you're just in for a weekend trip, anything farther down the island will serve you just as well -- you'll be driving anyway. Stay away if you're sensitive to chemicals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gridskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Heron Suites. We are glad we were able to accommodate you on your latest trip to Long Island. All of our suites have recently been redone and apologize if you found the new furnishings uncomfortable. We take great pride in keeping our rooms spotless and again do apologize that your room had a strong clean smell that you found overpowering. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Comfortable, newly renovated rooms, with kitchen, water view & marina. Accommodating staff referred us to great restaurants and varied local attractions. We rented a boat for the day, swam in their heated pool, and enjoyed nearby town of Greenport. The property also has a kayak & bike rental and a restaurant. Location, Location, Location.....Robin G

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are all new since the super storm Sandy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We have worked so hard to come back from Hurricane Sandy’s devastation and love to hear when others enjoy themselves and notice our efforts. Glad to hear you the staff was helpful, hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently visited Heron Suites in Southold and was enormously impressed. The lobby provides seating which overlooks a breathtaking view of the water. The newly renovated rooms are extremely clean and well designed, like something you'd see in a magazine. There's is a beautiful pool on the property as well as a restaurant, boat rentals (including kayaks and paddleboards), and bike rentals. The hotel is close to many wineries and antique shops. I would definately recommend it to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TERRI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property the Heron Suites. We love to hear that others enjoy the property and all the area has to offer as much as we do! Please do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family recently visited the North Fork and fell in love wit the Heron Suites. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms have recently been remodeled and are clean and spacious. Close to shops and many restaurants, rented a car from Hertz at neighboring property. Would reccomend to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMarieJ467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Heron Suites. We are very happy with our remodel and love to hear that others like it as well. So glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves while out on the North Fork. Please be sure to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently traveled to Long Island with a group of 4 friends to go wine tasting. We stayed at The Heron Suites, and had a amazing time. The front desk staff helped us set up a wine tour and even had a great dinner recommendation. The Heron Suites is super close to the wineries and a cute little town called Greenport that has lots of shops and restaurants. Our room was new, clean and big enough to sleep all 4 of us. Loved the quaint seating area on the waters edge where we enjoyed even more LI wine! Looking to make this a yearly trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Heron Suites. We are thrilled your that group took our recommendation and went on a wine tour. There are so many great wineries and restaurants in the area, you can’t go wrong! We look forward to being part of your yearly trip and introducing to you more of our favorite NF places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southold
2.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
4.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
17.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Suites

Property: Heron Suites
Address: 61600 Route 25, Southold, NY 11971-4740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heron Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The difference is in the details... Ideally located dockside in Southold, and part of the landmark family-owned Port of Egypt Marina, we invite you to experience all we have to offer. Heron Suites presents 17 well appointed and modernized suites with all the comforts of home plus access to the beautiful, natural surroundings of the North Fork. We offer 12 one-bedroom "First Mate Suites", 4 two-bedroom Captains Quarter's Suites, and our Admiral's Suites is a two-bedroom and two-bathroom handicap accessible unit. Each oversized suite conveniently features a full kitchen. Our friendly room decor is a welcome retreat in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Southold
Heron Harbor Hotel
Heron Suites Southold, North Fork, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing