We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Paradise on the water"”
Review of Heron Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heron Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently visited Heron Suites in Southold and was enormously impressed. The lobby provides seating which overlooks a breathtaking view of the water. The newly renovated rooms are extremely clean and well designed, like something you'd see in a magazine. There's is a beautiful pool on the property as well as a restaurant, boat rentals (including kayaks and paddleboards), and bike rentals. The hotel is close to many wineries and antique shops. I would definately recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property the Heron Suites. We love to hear that others enjoy the property and all the area has to offer as much as we do! Please do stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family recently visited the North Fork and fell in love wit the Heron Suites. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms have recently been remodeled and are clean and spacious. Close to shops and many restaurants, rented a car from Hertz at neighboring property. Would reccomend to all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneMarieJ467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Heron Suites. We are very happy with our remodel and love to hear that others like it as well. So glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves while out on the North Fork. Please be sure to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently traveled to Long Island with a group of 4 friends to go wine tasting. We stayed at The Heron Suites, and had a amazing time. The front desk staff helped us set up a wine tour and even had a great dinner recommendation. The Heron Suites is super close to the wineries and a cute little town called Greenport that has lots of shops and restaurants. Our room was new, clean and big enough to sleep all 4 of us. Loved the quaint seating area on the waters edge where we enjoyed even more LI wine! Looking to make this a yearly trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Heron Suites. We are thrilled your that group took our recommendation and went on a wine tour. There are so many great wineries and restaurants in the area, you can’t go wrong! We look forward to being part of your yearly trip and introducing to you more of our favorite NF places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I came out this past weekend and attended the Open House at POE and Heron Suites. What a amazing job they did on the remodel. Our room was was bright, clean and spacious. The lobby is gorgeous, hard wood floors and great bay views. Excited to come back this summer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 835BrittanyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We are so glad you took the time to attend our open house; it was so exciting to see everyone’s reaction to our remodel. Please make sure to come and stay again now that the weather is finally warming up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We try to come to LI wine country at least once a year and we almost always stay here. The staff is super friendly and it is so close to Greenport.

It's not super luxurious like the W hotel but it is clean and the rooms are pretty big with kitchen and separate living room. Definitely will come stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coaldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property The Heron Suites. We appreciate your feedback and are excited to have you as a repeat guest to our suites. We look forward to having you stay again, perhaps a summer visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everything was very pleasant. Even under renovations the rooms were very quiet and clean. My family and I are very eager to come back in the summer to stay in one of the many larger suites. Also my kids are looking forward to swimming in the pool, playing on the playground and walking the docks, and possibly renting a kayak.

Strongly recommend this hotel for families and singles!!!! Beautiful new water front room for wedding brunches or rehearsal dinners or whatever your heart desires!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alyssa41988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Heron Suites. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us over the holidays and value your patience with regards to our renovation. We look forward to hosting your family again and hope you come back soon to enjoy all our property has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Admiral Suite with another couple and the living/dining/kitchen facility is comfortable for four. It is nice that each couple has its own private bedroom and bathroom suite. The location on the Port of Egypt marina with its many boats and the water view is so enjoyable. The location is close to Greenport and many wineries on the wine trail are close by. We have stayed here several times and will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjohnsonmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We are happy to have been chosen for your recent trip. Be sure to think of us again for your next visit out east!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southold
1.4 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
631 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
4.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
17.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.5 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Suites

Address: 61600 Route 25, Southold, NY 11971-4740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Price Range: $198 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heron Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The difference is in the details... Ideally located dockside in Southold, and part of the landmark family-owned Port of Egypt Marina, we invite you to experience all we have to offer. Heron Suites presents 17 well appointed and modernized suites with all the comforts of home plus access to the beautiful, natural surroundings of the North Fork. We offer 12 one-bedroom "First Mate Suites", 4 two-bedroom Captains Quarter's Suites, and our Admiral's Suites is a two-bedroom and two-bathroom handicap accessible unit. Each oversized suite conveniently features a full kitchen. Our friendly room decor is a welcome retreat in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Heron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Southold
Heron Harbor Hotel
Heron Suites Southold, North Fork, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing