We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shorecrest Exceeded Our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Southold B&B and Inns
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shorecrest Exceeded Our Expectations”
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I spent a weekend at Shorecrest in early June while on the North Fork for a family wedding. I spend hours on the internet before choosing Shorecrest and it truly exceeded my expectations.

The house is beautiful inside and out. Walking into the front room is like stepping into a different world. Marilyn is a wonderful, friendly, interesting hostess and we so enjoyed her company and our conversations with her.

Our room was just as attractive as the pictures and very comfortable. We had a great view of the Long Island Sound from our windows.

And the breakfasts!!! Possibly the best I've ever had and I can be really hard to get along with when it comes to food.

Did I mention the grounds? The lawn, flowers, and landscaping in general were all very beautiful and would have provided a great place to relax with a book.

We truly hope for another trip to the area and will definitely stay at Shorecrest.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodNamesUsurped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    20
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
114
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This was truly one of my favorite inn experiences despite the fact that I don't typically like staying at B&B's however Marilyn, the owner is charming, warm, so very interesting and an incredible chef. Her breakfasts (ask for her French toast) are elegant, very enjoyable and absolutely delicious....the inn itself is lovely with beautiful grounds to enjoy. It sits back from a main highway with the beach across the street, walks in the early morning are a must. Marilyn shares her love of her home, the small neighboring towns so that you too can appreciate their charm and quirkiness. Take advantage of the restaurants she suggested, Northfork Inn and Restaurant, the SeaFood Barge and the Frisky Oyster. I look forward to making my next trip there with another tour of the wineries and of course at the Shorecrest B&B!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malNewYorkNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Having just returned from Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast, I feel very relaxed. The owner goes out of her way to welcome guests, the home is beautifully furnished and yet very comfortable and the rooms (which each have their own bathroom) are very nice and extremely clean. The breakfasts are fabulous and a great start to the day! The beach is across the street and charming towns and vineyards are also nearby. It was a wonderful vacation, with many thanks to the owner for her hospitality and such a charming home. The Shorecrest B&B is a special place to stay on the North Fork.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I'm sure the owner of this place simply prices her rates based on her location and other B&B's in the area, so from that respect, it's probably in-line. But, I guess I was just expecting more for my money.
Marilyn was very nice, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very elegant. But, the house and outdoor area was not anything special (even had that old mothball smell when you walk in - like visiting grandma's house). Our room (SW room) was fairly small, no TV and tiny bathroom. Supposedly, there was a deck, but it certainly wasn't advertised if that was for the guests or not.
For $500 over 2 nights, I just expected something a little more than average.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank instantdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I recently stayed at the Shorecrest a lovely bed & breakfast for a 3 week week holiday.
The beds are large & comfy, the breakfasts are delicious, made fresh each morning owner, with a wonderful variety of foods.
The house is set in beautiful gardens (where deer roam free) & just across the road, a path to their own beach front.
You can look out over the Atlantic Ocean & in the evening you get a magnificent view of the sunset.
Close by are two villages, full of antique shops to peruse.
There are also trips to local vineyards with various wines to taste, (which i enjoyed).
So much to enjoy & if all that is not enough, just a short bus ride away is Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerIsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My writing group held a meeting just for the day in early November at Shorecrest and because we had such a positive experience, we are now planning to return. The bed and breakfast, built in the 1870’s across the street from Long Island Sound, is beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained. We took advantage of a very private, airy room on the main floor to begin our meeting, later adjourning for lunch to a cottage on the beach managed by innkeeper Marilyn Marks, who effortlessly knows how to treat guests. Shorecrest is an unusual and inspiring place to hold a small meeting or retreat; I am also hoping to return with friends for a vacation.

  • Liked — Beautifully appointed rooms, wonderful location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escribbler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2008

As a member of the Renaissance Writers, I am delighted to share that we found the perfect spot for our Writers Workshop at Shorecrest B&B, Southold, NY. The beautifully appointed rooms and the quite well lighted solarium offered a peaceful atmosphere and fruitful setting to present our work. The aroma of hot cider filled the room. During our break we walked to the beach and took in the spectacular views of the bay. Our luncheon and afternoon session were held in the beach house, finishing off a perfect day.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silky67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southold
0.8 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
547 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
4.3 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
236 reviews
7.3 mi away
Orient Inn
Orient Inn
#1 of 1 in Orient
105 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast
Address: 54300 County Road 48, Southold, NY 11971-1360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast is unparalleled in providing the most comfortable and gorgeous surroundings for your Long Island experience. From our unique location overlooking the Long Island Sound and an inlet of Shelter Bay we have the finest views in the North Fork area. Our delightful rooms each have their own character. Amenities include wifi, flat screen TVs, premium cable, fireplaces, and private bathrooms. Each morning you are welcomed in the living room with coffee, tea, and a variety of breads. Our renowned full breakfast includes popular items like our baked apple french toast. Afterwards, lounge on a hammock surrounded by our gorgeous gardens. If you're traveling with a family, group, or desire a secluded couples' retreat, consider renting one of our beach houses! Recently renovated, all come fully furnished and have beach access. Guests partake in water sports, shopping, and winery tours in the area. Give us a call to reserve your unforgettable Long Island experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorecrest Bed And Breakfast And Beach House Hotel Southold
Shorecrest b&b And Beach House
Shorecrest Bed & Breakfast Southold, North Fork, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing