We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit like sitting in someone's lounge ,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuscan House - CLOSED

Tuscan House
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit like sitting in someone's lounge ,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had a very nice meal here and the staff were kind enough to wrap up what we hadn't managed to eat without even asking ! I felt it was more for locals than tourists but that's not to say we didn't enjoy it .

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 186402Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“"Specials of the day"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

If a restaurant offers 'specials of the day' then the following should apply:
- there can be only a FEW specials of the day because the chef had the chance to buy something on the market (especially new in season, unusual, etc.) around which he wozld like to create a dish for the customers.
- the waiter or waitress should explain this to the customer and list the few specials of the day
In our case the waitress was talking faster than a machine gun and listed about 10 or 15 specials of the day. I gave up after 15 seconds and choose something from the card.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
318 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Tuscan House is one of those rare restaurants where you can order off the menu blindfolded and end up with a great meal.

On our last visit we had an appetizer special of burrata, which is a very creamy mozzarella made with a cream and mozzarella center. Served on crostini, it is every bit as good as it sounds. ($20)

Our other app was the Insalata di Pesce, a nice mix of tender fresh fish and shellfish very lightly seasoned with lemon, garlic, and olive oil. ($20)

For one of our main courses we had Capelli d Granchi which was a delicious light pasta dish made with crab in a very light cream sauce. Just a perfect balance of flavors. ($28)

Our other main course was Vitello Capricciosa, three thin veal cutlets lightly fried with a great fresh bread crumb breading. Topping the cutlet was a blend of sweet peppers, red onion and greens. The dish is normally served with balsamic, but I highly recommend trying it with no dressing other than lots of fresh lemon. (I offer the same recommendation for any Veal Milanese style dish) A small thing, but I appreciated them bringing plenty of sliced fresh lemons with the dish. Normally you get a few wedges. The dish was simply fantastic.

Service was excellent, portions are more than fair, and the atmosphere is very nice.

There are number of "good - not great" restaurants in the Hamptons. This is among the few that really get it right on all counts. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C from NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner at Tuscan House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was invited to join friends at this restaurant which was to be my first visit to the Tuscan House. I was not disappointed. The menu was nice, food excellent, and an affordable wine list. The waitress was very attentive, and made some recommendations I appreciated.
One drawback to this restaurant was the noise level, at times the 4 of us had trouble hearing each other, so conversation at times was difficult.
There was a singer at the bar who, later in the evening when most of the crowd left, we found to be enjoying. We didn't even know it was live music until the noise level subsided.
I highly recommend due to the food and service, as well as price...for the Hamptons it was quite reasonable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glassartist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Great Food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The food here is prepared with love. Every dish is special and to be savored. The menuis incredible and the daily specialties must be savored. It's not a fancy place but tastefully decorated. The wait staff are helpful and courteous. Dinner for two with shared salad, two entrees and a bottle of wine will cost you about $100. A fair price for crafted delicacies. I've been there several times and the food is constantly great.
There are fancier restaurants in town but this one shines above places like the "Cafe" in terms of value.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank YodaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan House also viewed

 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing