We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From great to terrible”
Review of Lobster Grille - CLOSED

Lobster Grille
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This landmark has been here for 44 years. Serving fresh local seafood, chicken, beef and much more. a view to die for and an upstairs room for larger parties and special occasions. service is attentive, prices are reasonable, drinks are fun , nice selection of draught beers. fully air conditioned and reservations accepted.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“From great to terrible”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Lobster Inn was recently sold & is now called the Lobster Grille Inn. It used to be a great place for lobster. It is now a terrible place for lobster. On July 27,2013 I visited the restaurant with my wife & another couple. We all ordered 2 pound steamed lobsters. They were all dry & chewy. Our mistake was in not notifying the manager the food was terrible. That was the last time I visit this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    19
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yuck”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The smell as you walk past the service entrance to get in was disgusting. They sat us at a table that was supposed to be a booth; however was so tiny and odd it was uncomfortable. The window was filthy and the decor looked worn and dirty. The food was not good at all...i didn't finish my lobster and my husband was nauseous after his meal. My soda was flat and tasteless. I wanted to leave before we ordered our food but my husband said it would be good lobster because we had been there years ago. Gross all the way around. We should have walked out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joyb722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Management and It Shows and Feels”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We always enjoyed the Lobster Inn since we began visiting the restaurant about 14 years ago. The Inn opened in1969 and has been known for its famous splat. We went there for lunch last Saturday and learned that the Lobster Inn is now called the Lobster Grill after being sold and closed last winter. The Lobster Grill is a new restaurant operating in the old Lobster Inn facility with no affiliation to the original establishment. I don't even remember if a splat was on the menu because we were ready for oysters, steamers, seared tuna, and a lobster roll. It was a disappointment. The oysters were not cleaned properly and had bits of shell throughout the flesh and were tasteless. The steamers were decent, but the presentation was very sloppy, the tuna's presentation looked better than the taste, and the lobster "roll". Well, it was. It just was a lobster "salad" served between two slices of sandwich bread.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeCeHeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Went for the lobster rolls”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

From Oregon, came for the lobster rolls, although it was more a lobster sandwich. The daily micro beer was fun to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barney4852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota,Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it once was”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Overpriced menu and everything we wanted wasn't available as in "lobster". What a shame

Helpful?
1 Thank poppyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Grille also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing