We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not was the same anymore”
Review of Delmonico's of Southampton - CLOSED

Delmonico's of Southampton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Powell Avenue
Transit: LIRR Southampton stop
Description: Delmonico’s of Southampton Est. 1837 is a stylish seaside spin on the flagship Delmonico’s Restaurant in downtown Manhattan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not was the same anymore”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

i used to love this place but now it's really bad. Before they used to have this manager, rude and not nice person. His name is Fabrizio and his reputation as manager was really bad but now they don't have this manager anymore and they still not able to give good service. before i used to see this very short manager bullying the staff in front of costumers. maybe is the fact that he could not bully nobody at school because they fell sorry for this nano. never go there anymore people with this manager Fabrizio or without him there just don't go. period

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Popolota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Chef + New Management = New vision & success for this restaurant”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you want ambiance, this is the place. Sat next to the fireplace and felt right at home as the waiter introduced himself by name....Kosta. Small & Cozy. Live music that is a bit loud but they were working on it the night we were there.

Started with appetizers of a Crabcake, Tuna & steak tartars, Oysters, Duck Empinadas, & a Shashimi Pizza that was outrageous. Fabulous and delish! There was a Bruschette that arrived compliments of the chef after apps that was just the right touch. Dinners: Yellowfin Tuna grilled perfect with "veggie Lo Mein" , Chicken Saltimbocca , Filet Mignon "Rossini" were all served with their own potato and sides that were excellent. The best was a "Cowboy Rib Eye" steak that had us all eating off our friends plate....huge and awesome!!!!!

Desserts: apples walnuts and goat cheese served chartereuse style with honey and a passion fruit sauce that disappeared quickly! Chocolate genache lava cake -- YUM!!! bread pudding.

We didn't order drinks other than wine, but the bar is a big hearty wood bar that is a nice place to sit if you have to wait for a table. New chef, new staff & new management - so it has some kinks to work out. Still, it is a nice place for good food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodyofallfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Gatsby Before His Rise Would LOVE It”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Husband and I went there, almost compelled by the triteness of the restaurant's self-proclaimed long-term commitment to excellent food and service and a promise to evoke the era of the Great Gatsby. A) There was nobody even vaguely resembling Daisy in the restaurant:). B) When I asked the waitress if there was anything off the menu, she said, "Yes" and rattled off the list of items that were NOT available. I asked her if anything else was available in return. She said, "No." Not, no, sorry. Not I wish. No. Before she rushed off (and the place was almost empty, too). Not available was about half of the menu. Husband ordered wine. She poured off a little for him to taste. He tasted and nodded. She poured the rest of his glass before mine. Great service? Really? After we ordered, the waitress literally pulled the menus out of hands; she hovered over our table without even asking questions the entire evening while we ate, clearly anxious for us to get out as quickly as possible. My husband's duck was charred. My supposedly medium-rare steak was overdone and so tasteless it could have been red-painted cardboard and I would have never known the difference. My grilled asparagus was so burned it was absolutely bitter. I would not go back there. I doubt anybody from Gatsby's golden age would have ever set foot in that place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nabok_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great the best”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Very nice place and cozy. The best steaks in the hamptons.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Popolota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor Park, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Superb service and exceptional food.”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I've been going to Savanna's since the fall of 1997 and althought it changed ownership in 2008, it has remained my absolute favorite place to dine in the Hamptons. Yes, the weekend crowd differs greatly from the weekday crowd as the weekend crowd consists mainly of city dwellers but, don't let this detter you. This is absolutely the best dining experience in the Hamptons and all of Long Island. Reservations are a definite must. My favorite dishes are any of the fish or steak dishes. They make the best season crusted tuna served on a bed of seaweed salad and their avocado and crab salad is to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southamptonlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico's of Southampton also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing