We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Loved the hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed for just two nights (Saturday and Sunday) and next time we'll definitely stay longer!

The hosts, Kim and Chris are two of the nicest people and are committed to making sure your visit to the Hamptons is perfect! Extremely helpful with directions, recommendations and general Hamptons information/gossip! They also have thought of every amenity you could possibly need! Chris even ushered us to the car as we left in the rain, holding an umbrella over us!

The garden is just absolutely beautiful and there are plenty of places to sit and relax, including by the pool. I wish we would have had more time to just sit by the pool in the lovely garden, I can't imagine anything more relaxing!

Breakfast was fresh and delicious and since we had nice weather we were able to have breakfast in the garden. It was difficult to come home to just a granola bar for breakfast!

Our room was very clean and cosy. Overally, I very much felt as if we were staying with old friends! The bed was not the "heavenly" sort with fluffy duvet, but was comfortable with a quilt and nice linens.

The cookies left each day were delicious and thankfully you only find one per person in your room or I would have ate a whole dozen!

  • Liked — The hosts were fantastic
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UCLaw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
239
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

Chris and Kim, the owners of this charming home are 100% committed to your comfort. Chris is even a real butler, so he knows how to really run a professional home.

At this retreat, fabulous Egyptian cotton sheets and cosy beds are waiting for you. Large rooms. Fresh flowers, home made cookies and two glasses of sherry—greet you. It's very welcoming. And of course, the rooms come with the usual B&B touches: lots of flowered prints, patterns and dolls.

The grounds and the pool are AMAZING! It's truly england on the East Coast. Come later in the summer and you'll actually be able to swim. IT was a little too cold in May.

Breakfast isn't over the top, and if you don't like something...go ahead and be specific. They want to make you happy. I didn't think we'd be eating zuccini and mushrooms for breakfast so didn't mention I'm not big on those veggies, well guess what was in the baked cheese eggs ? My bad. Thank god for the delicious coffee bread and fruit salad.

  • Liked — Location, landscaping and the great sheets! The hosts are lovely too.
  • Disliked — The random dolls and all the over the top flowery decor.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank j4metoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

We arrived late, but Chris and Kim were very accomodating. And there was port and cookies waiting for us in our room. Kim makes excellent breakfasts (fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juice, muffins and stuffed french toast or quiche) and on nice days you can sit outside and enjoy them too. It was too cold for us to swim, but the pool looked nice and we enjoyed walking around the garden.

The rooms were well appointed and clean and had lots of nice touches (CD player and CDs, products in the bathroom, chocolates left on the bed when it's turned down), plus there is coffee and tea available right outside the room.

They really think of everything and made our weekend nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tdlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

This place is absolutely lovely - if you want to treat someone, take them here. We only stayed for one night but I think I could have lived there! When we arrived Chris - who'd already been super-helpful and friendly on the phone - was ready to greet us immediately and took us on a tour around the house, which is really cosy and like a (much nicer) home away from home. Our bedroom (the French-styled one, choose it if you can) was also beautiful with four-poster bed and loads of lovely little thoughtful touches, like home-made cookies, sherry and all the toiletries you'd need. The garden is gorgeous too - we had a yummy breakfast cooked by Kim there the next morning with the other guests under the blossoming trees. Throughout our stay Chris and Kim couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful (their guidelines on where to go in the Hamptons are also great), and the atmosphere they create - of being somewhere really tranquil and happy - is something I haven't found in many hotels or B&Bs before.

The house itself, the room and the area are all absolutely gorgeous, but I think the nicest thing about this place was the feeling of being at home and all the attention to tiny details - which is a total credit to Chris and Kim. We had an amazing time, and I would go back there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Chris and Kim's thoughtfulness and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

We loved our stay at this quaint Bed and Breakfast. When we arrived in the rain, Chris, one of the owners, came running out with umbrellas and helped us make our way into the house. Here we were greeted by Kim. They are both great people with a great personalities. They showed us around the house, which has the charm of an old home, but all the amenities of today, including wireless internet. Fresh baked cookies and tea helped us warm up as we unpacked and became comfortable with our surroundings. We were there two days and the breakfasts were great and made with fresh items from the garden. The backyard is well kept and provides a nice retreat for reading and enjoying the fresh air. We had an opportunity to sit outside for breakfast one of the days we were there and loved it!

I definitely recommend this. You can choose a room with just a shower or a full bath tub. We had chosen the one with a shower stall. This bathroom was small, but I didn't mind at all, since it was well lit and clean.

  • Liked — The hospitality and warmth of the place
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

Staying at the Manor with Kim and Chris is like staying with old friends -- but better. Unlike most of our friends, they anticipate our every need and more! From the minute you pull into the parking area, and Chris comes out to meet you and take your bags, you are welcomed into their warm and gracious home. The rooms are lovely, and the common areas are warm and inviting. Curl up on the couch in front of the warm fire and read, or sit in the charming garden. Wine is served along with wonderful conversation in the late afternoon. And the breakfasts are scrumptious! Once you have stayed here, you will be spoiled!

  • Liked — The Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

My wife and I just had a wonderful weekend in "the Hamptons". We did everything from wine tasting, shopping, peeping in on the rich and famous, wonderful dining, walking on a deserted beach to see a beautiful sunset, climbing a historic lighthouse, etc. We even saw a nesting swan in a little pond in East Hampton. This beautiful bird didn't seem to mind people approaching her up close.
The Butler's Inn was perfectly located for all our activities. Kim and Chris were warm and gracious hosts. From their initial greeting
they both responded to our needs and questions with a very easy pleasant manner that made us both feel at ease and comfortable. They both seemed to be there when we needed them but were never intrusive into our activities. The Inn is meticulously clean and organized with a very warm and pleasant decor and atmosphere. The little details that were done constantly amazed me and are too numerous to go into here. One can tell that Kim and Chris take pride
in their Inn.
I strongly recommend this Inn for anyone needing a wonderful place to stay on the "Island". Doug T.

  • Liked — The hosts.
  • Disliked — Not applicable.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank G0yanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.2 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton
A Butler's Manor Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing