We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Island Gateway”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Long Island Gateway”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We live in NYC and would like to get out and have some fresh air, therefore, we decided to drive to Southampton. We found A Butler's Manor by chance. What a charming B & B!!! Well decorated! Chris is a really nice host. He took care of us very well. This is not a typical B & B, he offered us a homemade cookies as well as sherry to end the perfect night. Breakfast is superb and delicious. We will definitely go back there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pimmymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
253
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Want to know why the right B & B is a fine option for a vacation? Come to Southampton and watch Chris and Kim in action. A Butler's Manor (Chris really was one) leaves nothing to chance. The property is lovely inside and out with every detail seen to. Breakfasts are excellent, accommodations sublime and guidance -- down to where to spot Calvin Klein's estate and what restaurants really are worth the price — spot on. Speaking of price, we went a bit over our usual budget on a hunch that this place was worth it -- and were we ever right!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was an absolute delight for our family to spend two nights in this B&B in beautiful Southampton. Chris, our host, gave us a warm welcome when we arrived on a chilly evening last Sunday. He had the open fire burning brightly in the drawing room and his friendly manner helped us to settle in quickly. Chris gave us plenty of tips for things to do and see in the area and his suggestion for dinner was wonderful. It was easy to walk into Southampton which is such a pretty village. The highlight of our stay though were the breakfasts, both absolutely delicious! Chris is a great chef and his attention to detail is amazing. It is definitely a lovely place to stay in The Hamptons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fast_walker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chris and Kim are the best hosts ever! Truly personalized service and unobtrusive at the same time, butler perfection!

Amazing toiletries, fluffiest towels, toilet roll and bathrobe! And the bed sheets... Nothing like you would have ever felt, 5-star hotels are nothing compared to this!

Breakfast is the best meal we had in NYC! Kim made us banana stuffed French toast and the signature Manor House omelette, both blew our minds in terms of taste and presentation. Breakfast was set with beautiful formal diningware and cutlery but coupled with Chris and Kim's warm personalities, it was an unpretentious experience that we will miss. Did I mention the homemade cookies that magically appear in your room everyday? And the sherry?

And and A Butler's Life is a terribly enjoyable read!!

Chris and Kim made our honeymoon unforgettable and was the icing on the cake of our entire NYC experience!

Never in ONE accommodation have we experienced that many best's!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We thought this was a very well run B&B. The location was nice, the breakfast was very good, the home and garden were very nice, and the couple who ran the place were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. It was my birthday, and they added special touches to the room to make it special for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

There are no words to express how grateful I am for the generous hospitality of Chris and Kim at A Butler's Manor. I have lived in New York City since 1997, and I have cherished every escape I have made to their beautiful bed & breakfast in Southampton!

I can still remember my first stay, when Kim picked me up from the Jitney with a warm welcome, and Chris made me feel right at home by offering me a glass of wine as I nestled into an armchair in their picture-perfect living room. They gave me a personal tour of Southampton, driving me past all of the lovely homes and privet hedges, showing me the beach and their favorite neighborhood shops and restaurants. Kim packed a bag of bread so that I could go and feed the ducks before dinner that night. In the morning, she and Chris were overjoyed with the wonderful items I brought back from my antiquing trip on Main Street and shared in my glee at the fabulous pair of boots I found to take back home with me to the city.

I later had the pleasure of spending a New Year's Eve at A Butler's Manor, and I could not think of a better place to ring in the new year. I had a delicious steak dinner downtown, just a short walk from the bed & breakfast, and settled in to sleep with a thimble of the sherry that Chris and Kim leave bedside in every room. They served up the ideal New Year's Day breakfast in the morning, exemplary of their always warm and gracious hospitality, before driving me back to the Jitney station that afternoon. I remember thinking that I would have loved to stay for at least another week if my schedule had permitted.

And most recently Chris and Kim were an integral part of one of the most special days in my adult life, when my love and I became engaged in their beautiful garden. Chris and Kim were prepared with flower petals to throw, champagne for a toast, celebratory music and giant strawberries garnished with powdered sugar. They even took the liberty of making a reservation for the two of us and our friends at the nearby Plaza Café – an incredible restaurant that you MUST visit on your trip to Southampton! – who stayed open just for our private celebration. When I think about the loving warmth with which they cared for us that weekend, it brings tears to my eyes. My fiancé and I will be forever grateful for the amazing memories that they have given us, and we plan to return to A Butler's Manor at least once a year to enjoy everything that this idyllic bed & breakfast and the gracious hosts have to offer.

Chris and Kim have been like a surrogate family to me over the years, and A Butler's Manor like a second home. I cannot recommend them highly enough to any traveler making their way to Southampton! I guarantee that every stay will be one that you will never forget, and each time that you leave the Hamptons you will already be planning your return.

Room Tip: My loved ones and I have had the pleasure of staying in three different rooms, all of which were idy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit to my brother, and could not have been happier! The place is a true gem. The rooms are immaculate, the food and service second to none. Ask for the French toast, it was the best I have ever had.
All the rooms are exactly as the pictures. The bed was sublime, and had us asking where the sheets came from, cotton source and thread count.
The cost is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. And don't worry about the minimum stay in season, you won't want to leave when the time comes!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
292 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton
A Butler's Manor Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing