We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in the Hamptons”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B in the Hamptons”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were delighted with our stay at Chris and Kim's beautiful home in Southampton. Chris and Kim went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. They have a wonderful knowledge of the local area and amenities and take a personal interest in all their guests getting the most from their trip. Their home is first class and Kim's breakfasts are to be experienced. I would have no hesitation in recommending a Butlers manor to anyone who wants to experience the warmth and hospitality of the Hamptons.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
252
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked into Butler's Manor for the weekend and the reception we recieved from Chris and Kim was excellent. We got caught up in Friday evening traffic on the Long Island Express Way which delayed our arrival but they waited until we arrived to ensure we got settled in.

Their knowledge of the local area is exceptional and they were able to recommend routes around Long Island. A great place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Bole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Chris and Kim run this perfect B&B in Southampton. Before we even arrived they made us feel welcome by getting in touch to check if we had any particular likes / dislikes for breakfast to make sure we fully enjoyed our stay. In terms of location, it's a great place to explore the Hamptons. The B&B itself is lovely with pretty decor, a warming fireplace, comfortable beds, modern en suite bathroom, TV, iPod dock... and little personal touches... mini eggs in bowls for Easter weekend, sherry and biscuits in the room. There is also a lovely garden.. perfect for relaxing and sharing a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfast was tasty and sociable with all the guests eating together. All in all, the perfect weekend getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We decided to have a getaway trip to the Hamptons pre-season since the weather has been getting warmer so we stayed one night at the Butler's Manor - except we got slightly unlucky with a pouring Sunday (but Saturday was sunny, despite previous weather forecast which almost discouraged us). Chris and Kim are the most hospitable and cheerful innkeepers! Chris picked us up at the train station (which was really a 2 minute walk from the Butler's Manor) and when we arrived, Kim showed us around the house while Chris went to fetch tea for us. Their bed sheets were fabulous and soft- I immediately bought several online for my family. They also have the amenities that you won't expect a B&B to have. Their lotions also smelled great! Chris and Kim know exactly what guests need! Being a huge fan of Downton Abbey, I could not resist my urge to bring it up and discuss with Chris. :) I still need to finish his book: A Butler's Life!

The Butler's Manor is a bit of a walk to downtown and the beach, but it was close to the train and jitney, which was what we wanted. On Sunday, we decided to leave early because of the rain and Kristen drove us to the jitney station!

Oh, and the breakfasts were great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygal12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I are like most Manhattanites... to many weekends in the city and you MUST get away. We decided to make a trip out to the Hamptons, pre-season to avoid the chaos and commotion that will be coming this summer... and it turned out to be one of the best weekends ever!! My husband had booked A Butler's Manor only a few days in advance. We've stayed on the North Fork and visited the vineyards and also been all over the South fork - though this was our first time at ABM.

Chris and Kim couldnt have been better hosts. They thought of every little detail and treated us all like family. They gave us fantastic - honest - recommendations on where to go and eat. They made sure our rooms were comfortable and complete. They provided everything from afternoon tea to early morning coffee. Nothing was an inconveinence.

Beyond that these two are such a wonderful, loving couple that knows just how to make their guests feel right at home. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Book pre-season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Very nice house with plenty of space even when full. Georgous back yard with pool and area to relax with a glass of wine. Owners are super nice and breakfast was excellent. Easy to come and go as you please and hang out in common areas. A bit of a walk to restaurants in town (1mi) and the beach (1.5mi) but close to the train station.

Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrevorGSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Chris was working in the front yard when my wife and I arrived. He
immediately came over and greeted us warmly and made us feel welcome.
He took our bags upstairs while Kim gave us a tour of the downstairs.
Kim then took us upstairs to show us to our room. The room was
excellent and Kim took the time to show us how the various appliances
in the room operated. Chris and Kim have put together various guides
of the Hamptons. Each guide had recommendations on what to see and
suggested places to eat, from take out to full sit down restaurants.
They were kind enough to e-mail us their wine tasting guide ahead of
time and we followed that on our drive in from Orient Point as well on
our drive out to Orient Point. We followed the Hampton's tour the one
full day we were there. We were there two nights and wished we could
have stayed longer. The breakfasts cooked by Kim were delicious.
Chris served with the polish you would expect from a professional
butler. The weather cooperated and we were able to eat on the back
patio one of the mornings we were there, and it was a a very
satisfying experience. Chris gave us a tour of the gardens, be sure
to ask him how he got the shed into the back of the property. The
Butler's Manor is a wonderful place to stay. The Manor itself is
excellent with comfortable rooms and sitting areas and Chris and Kim
make you feel so welcome you won't want to leave. We enjoyed our
visit so much we are already planning on a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
292 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton
A Butler's Manor Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing