We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appetizers, wonderful service”
Review of Spiro's - CLOSED

Spiro's
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Restaurant is open for Dine-in monday through thursday for dinner and on the weekends for lunch, brunch, and dinner starting at 10 am. Our take-out service is open seven days a week from 11-10
East Hampton New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great appetizers, wonderful service”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Driving down Montauk Hwy we noticed this restaurant had finally opened after long renovations. We stopped in for dinner. It was crowded, very noisy but we were seated right away. Very accommodating hostess. The serve staff was helpful, and very attentive. The food was pricey, but what we ordered was very good. The traditional greek salad was perfect. We also enjoyed the grilled calamari and the mini souvlaki, all appetizers. (unfortunately the gyro platter was a combination of beef and lamb so we didn't think it was worth ordering an entree.We were not disappointed for a 1st visit and will definitely return. The bar was very active, and crowded, but most of all way to loud with blaring "boom, boom, boom" disco music. Traditional greek music would have been more appropriate. After asking for the music to be turned down, it was but not enough. I found the noise levels way to high, but perhaps in the future management will see the light. Again, give it a try, if only for the appetizers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greybonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The Best Greek Food in Southampton...”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I love fresh flavorful food. I love grilled fish. Combine the two and you have fresh grilled fish and they don't do it any better than at Greek Bites in Southampton.

Five of us enjoyed a very nice selection of foods in our first visit. We started with fried zucchini with a gently flavored garlic dip made with potatos (can't remember the Greek names for these things), grilled octopus with grilled peppers, capers, lemon and oil, and a salad of tomato, cucumber and feta cheese. The feta was very creamy and of very good quality.

Our main plates included a well seasoned lamb kabob; perfectly done to a tender and delicious medium-well, Grilled shrimp and two types of grilled fish; branzino and porgy. We ordered the branzino filleted and the porgies whole. If you can't deal with the bones, have them fillet the fish; it's just as tasty.

Prices are on the higher end, but the food is so good that we didn't mind paying it. The service was spotty. They're just opening, so the kinks are getting worked out and it can be a bit frustrating. However, management realizes this and they offered us a round of drinks on the house.

I wish them well. With food this good and few great choices on the East End, they deserve a place in the limelight. I would recommend you try them out, as I feel you'll be very happy when you do. Reservations are a must, as it's not a large restaurant AND they deliver!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Froggy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New and needs improvement”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Open a short time, we thought they'd go overboard to please. The servers were fine, but the food was sub-par. Entres came out cold, not well prepared. Very high prices and not worth it at this time. Will try it again, but if no improvement it's a goner. There are too many fine restaurants available on the East End.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HamptonBayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not your family Greek eats.”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We ate here on 12/10/11. With such a simple name we thought it would be casual and reasonably priced. Stick with apps and soup,salad. Entrees are not worth the price at all. The music was loud, more for a bar crowd not dinner music. The portions are good sized but the entrees are not worth 25$ and up. There is no 12$ gyro or souvlaki here. Not the place to take kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chhbza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Gem in Southampton”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Simply incredible. I went to dinner here Saturday, November 26 with my husband. The decor was stunning - white marble bar, marble fireplace, very elegant European style. The staff was friendly and polite. There was not an empty seat in the restaurant yet the noise level was fine, and the music was perfect. We ordered the sampler for an appetizer and it was incredible - four different dips with pita. For an entree I had the sea bass and my husband had the tiger shrimp. Both meals were excellent. We split the rice pudding for desert, and it too was awesome. I've been waiting for this place to open for months, and was not disappointed. One of the best dining experiences I've had in a long time. I will definitely go back soon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiro's also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing