We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good one”
Review of The Bentley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bentley
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a good one”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We have spent a night there two days ago. Not a pleasant experience, especially for the price we paid. Rooms are big but the layout is not appropriate (beds too small and living room too big). While from the outside the building seems OK, actually everything is old and outdated. Unlike what was mentioned, no wireless Internet connection was available.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jpcouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    5
    11
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were appalled at the state of this place after viewing the website. Nothing is updated. The rooms feel filthy and old. Tons of other people seemed to be complaining at the reception desk. They tried to accommodate us at The Atlantic, which is slightly more humane, but we ultimately managed to find refuge at The Drake Inn, which was gorgeous. Worst of all, the people at the Bentley and Atlantic don't seem to care that they are misleading droves of people. We had to fight tooth and nail for our deposit back. The website and photos are completely misleading. Run!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njm1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a nightmare. Like another guest said we had to drive down to The Atlantic hotel just to check in because they closed the one there so there is no supervision. Our room was nice, clean and very large for the two of us. Had an excellent dinner out in Southhampton and asked for a late check out so we could enjoy a night out. We were woken at 745am Sunday morning to hammering and sanders RIGHT outside our room! They were working on the pool deck at 745 on a Sunday morning????? So now on no sleep my husband goes out to a 7-11 to buy coffee because we have a coffee maker but no coffee, I get in the shower. NO HOT WATER!! Packed up and got out of there. We went to check out and the clerk at the Atlantic was very sorry and even offered us a room at the Atlantic to take a shower and kindly refunded our money. I never wanted to get home so bad!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was a dump!!! (I just stayed here July 12 – 14, 2013)
When you check in, if you can find the place, because the address on their website is wrong you have to check into The Atlantic Hotel first then you have to drive to The Bentley Hotel where your room is. This place is more like a $69 a room night type. It's definitely not a hotel, but a motel. They furniture is old and the TV isn't even a flat screen, it had a VCR as part of it!! The nerve that they charged us $550 a night for a room that was outdated, smelled and didn't even have good AC is ridiculous. The rooms look like rooms from when you went to camp as a young kid, but worse! The 1st room that they gave us didn't have electricity in part of the room. Once they got the electricity working, after unloading everything out of the car, the AC didn't work. The 2nd room they gave us, again unloading everything from the car smelled so bad (moldy) that I had an asthma attack so we couldn't stay in that room either. Finally, we had to drive back to the original hotel because there were no more rooms available at this hotel and got a 3rd room which was okay. This whole process took about 2 hours! In the new room the AC didn't work that great. It never went onto high mode, but at this point we just wanted a room to stay in already. I would never stay at either of these hotels (MOTELS) again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tml7669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I didn't have high expectations for this hotel/motel as many places near the Hamptons are crappy if you don't want to spend $800 a night. My husband surprised me with a stay at the Bentley last weekend and I am so happy he picked this place!

Good -
excellent pool area, with lounging beds, chairs and a great pool
We were in room 17 and it was big and updated
Staff was friendly and somewhat knowledgeable about the area
We could always get a parking spot
Reasonable price for what you get
Close to the village of Southampton
Close to all the Southampton beaches
Easy highway/montauk highway roads
Great water pressure in the shower

Not so good -
No coffee in room even though there was a coffee maker
Water in shower got hot then cold, then hot
View - no view

All in all, I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I reserved for the Atlantic but they told me they had overbooked and sent me here. Not too bad. Place is more of a motel, tvs are so old they had vcr slots. Bathroom floor looked pretty gross. The bed was comfy, and I got a decent night's sleep on it. One of the kitchen stools was broken, and the couch had a gross stain on it. All in all, it wasn't so bad, but for the exorbitant price tag, they should do some major renovations!

I guess it's better than staying at the Atlantic, because when I walked in there to check in, another guest was there complaining that the maid had stolen her makeup. Ruh-roh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBentley, Director of Sales at The Bentley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bentley. We are currently under new management and want to apologize that your stay wasn't ideal. We are working with our staff to make the necessary upgrade and changes needed. We look forward to an opportunity to host you as a guest in the future to show you that your concerns were noted and improvements have been made.

With warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Make no mistake-- this is motel that charges a premium due to its proximity to Southampton center and the relative lack of accommodations in the area. Yes, the suite is large and is practical since it has a kitchen. However, it is very run down - awful tiling in bathroom, stains on carpet, musty smelling, ratty towels, water bugs here and there.

Ours and adjacent rooms had no hot water for a day. We left anyway, but for what they charge, one could at least expect a hot shower instead of ice cold water.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBentley, Director of Sales at The Bentley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Bentley is now under new managment and we want to apologize that your stay was unpleasant and less than expected. We are working to make the neccessary updates and renovations to upgrade the rooms. We would look forward to an opportunity to host you as our guest again with a better guest experience.

With warm regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
1.1 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
2.8 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
292 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
152 reviews
4.6 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley

Property: The Bentley
Address: 161 Hills Station Rd, Southampton, NY 11968-3722
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bentley 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bentley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bentley Hotel Southampton
Bentley Hotel Southampton
The Bentley Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing