We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“at least there weren't bed bugs”
Review of The Bentley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bentley
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
New York, United States
2 reviews
“at least there weren't bed bugs”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I reserved for the Atlantic but they told me they had overbooked and sent me here. Not too bad. Place is more of a motel, tvs are so old they had vcr slots. Bathroom floor looked pretty gross. The bed was comfy, and I got a decent night's sleep on it. One of the kitchen stools was broken, and the couch had a gross stain on it. All in all, it wasn't so bad, but for the exorbitant price tag, they should do some major renovations!

I guess it's better than staying at the Atlantic, because when I walked in there to check in, another guest was there complaining that the maid had stolen her makeup. Ruh-roh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBentley, Director of Sales at The Bentley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bentley. We are currently under new management and want to apologize that your stay wasn't ideal. We are working with our staff to make the necessary upgrade and changes needed. We look forward to an opportunity to host you as a guest in the future to show you that your concerns were noted and improvements have been made.

With warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    5
    11
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Make no mistake-- this is motel that charges a premium due to its proximity to Southampton center and the relative lack of accommodations in the area. Yes, the suite is large and is practical since it has a kitchen. However, it is very run down - awful tiling in bathroom, stains on carpet, musty smelling, ratty towels, water bugs here and there.

Ours and adjacent rooms had no hot water for a day. We left anyway, but for what they charge, one could at least expect a hot shower instead of ice cold water.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBentley, Director of Sales at The Bentley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Bentley is now under new managment and we want to apologize that your stay was unpleasant and less than expected. We are working to make the neccessary updates and renovations to upgrade the rooms. We would look forward to an opportunity to host you as our guest again with a better guest experience.

With warm regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The website for The Bentley gives the impression that it will be a resort style hotel, newly renovated suites at tennis courts, etc. in reality it is more like a run down hotel. There was one clueless staff person at the front desk who struggled to get us checked in and left around six o'clock every day, leaving guests to fend for themselves if there were any problems, and there were a lot of problems - bugs, rooms badly in need of repair, crappy air conditioning units, lack of hot water, keys not working.... I could go on. Horrible place. I feel like I was totally scammed. Our group rented 5-6 rooms between us and the unanimous opinion is that this place is a dump.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickRubenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBentley, Director of Sales at The Bentley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Bentley is now under new management and we are taking your concerns and opinions seriously. We want to apologize for your unfortunate expereicne and are making changes to improove the guest experience. We look forward to an opportunity to host you as our guest in the future.

With warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great pool
We loved our stay especially because of the pool deck and the fun atmosphere. We have two kids and they spent hours by the pool and we had plenty of room in the spacious rooms. We are planning a trip back this summer, if you are looking for a convenient place to stay for a few days while visiting Southampton this is a great place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBentley, Director of Sales at The Bentley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. The Bentley is now under new management and we are making additional updates to elevate the guest experience.

With warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My expectations were so low that at the end it wasn't that bad. The hotel hasn't been renovated in a long time. Everything is stained and damaged but the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We went to a wedding and everyone was complaining about their hotel, even those that were paying 350 a night. At least, we got good beds. I think Southampton has pretty bad hotels and very very expensive. Would I recommend it? only if you are going just to sleep there, not if you are planning to spend part of the day at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Similar terrible experience: filthy, stained couch and chairs covered in over-bleached bed sheets. Pull-out sofa bed stank to high heaven. One horrendous odor on top of another. Noisy, shared interior foyers/hallways. No one in the office, housekeeper had to call other hotel, "Atlantic", to find out which room I was supposed to have. A month later, I am still waiting to be credited for being charged almost double the rate quoted over the phone. Check your credit card statement carefully. They have a heck of nerve charging these rates for such hiddeous accommodations.

Room Tip: Don't even think of staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a Motel not Hotel. the smell was terrible, large room with furniture of the 70's
covered with white sheet, very expense. I spend a lot of time to locate the front desk when ,finally, I locate nobody was at the office I call the number in front of the door and finally after 30 minutes someone came with car with the key of the room, never in my life this is happening. I was very imbarassed in front of my wife to choice this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauriziobarbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
1.1 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.8 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley

Property: The Bentley
Address: 161 Hills Station Rd, Southampton, NY 11968-3722
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bentley 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bentley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bentley Hotel Southampton
Bentley Hotel Southampton
The Bentley Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing