We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great get away”
Review of Mainstay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mainstay Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great get away”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

this little bed and breakfast was a very nice weekend getaway. Elizabeth was a wonderful host....friendly but not intrusive. when we were running late she actually called to make sure we were not lost. upon arrival she was there to greet us with a key and lots of information on places to see and things to do. breakfast in the morning was delicious, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh baked bread and yummy banana waffles. the rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. the pool is warm and a great way to end a long day out. the house has a lot of charm and we had a wonderful time. Elizabeth it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to come to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamptons7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

your experience staying here will be a 100% authentic southampton stay, the best of all it has to offer. Elizabeth Main does everything right. Casual luxuries abound. To spend an afternoon lounging by the beautiful pool and checking out the lush gardens is a little piece of heaven. The house it self is amazing, every detail done beautifully in classis hamptons/country style. breakfast is fantastic, it's not really continental, it's a nice, full spread that you can see she really puts a lot of thought, effort and love into. there are always home-baked treats (do not miss these!) I live in NYC and have been going to the Mainstay for almost 5 years in the summers and there is NO WHERE else I would stay ot east. Elizabeth is an wonderful innkeeping who makes every effort to heighten your entire southhampton experience. can't wait to get there next month and live the good life for a little while : )

Room Tip: Visit on weekdays to look for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Nice owner clean, comfortable place light in bathroom not working but that is fine but hard to put on makeup.
Quality of breakfast is simple.
The price is too expensive for the quality here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cos Cob, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I was somewhat skeptical based on some of the mixed reviews but was very pleased with The Mainstay. The location is ideal - just approx 1-2 miles from downtown Southampton and the same distance to the beach. The bed was super comfortable and our bathroom had a clawfoot tub that was adorable. The pool and backyard are beautiful - and the front of the house is decorated by gorgeous blue hydrangeas. Parking was easy - and plenty of it. Breakfast was quaint - meeting guests from the other suites/rooms and sharing plans for the day. Elizabeth was very helpful and nice. I would definitely stay here again - we really felt that we had a taste of Southampton (and the weather wasn't even that great - but we had a good time). It was very relaxing and pleasant (and we're very picky!).

Room Tip: all the rooms were very cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catchow_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Located in walking distance to Southampton (nearest Hampton to New York City) and its pristine ocean beaches, but central for short trips to anywhere on the East End or North Fork. Or one can explore this large beautifully landscaped property and lounge at the large pool. The healthy breakfast waffles are a "must", made by the owner Elizabeth who runs this b&b expertly and sets the special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanjom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Just tried to make a reservation but the person answering the phone was so rude I wouldn't stay there if you paid me.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAdonna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

After reading the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, I wasn't sure what to expect. For $275/night I hoped for the best. Although our room was large and nicely furnished, the air conditioner was on its last legs and was very noisy, interrupting sleep. The innkeeper was not at all flexible in the breakfast service. We had to leave the inn at 6:45am for an appointment, and although we let her know as soon as we arrived, the previous afternoon, she was not able to even offer coffee in the morning before we left. We were the only guests there at the time, as well. We did not feel welcomed. The inn is in a great location, within walking distance of town, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
1.0 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
292 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
64 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
152 reviews
23.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Inn

Property: Mainstay Inn
Address: 579 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southamptons B&B in historic village on Long Island, NY. Colonial House 1870s, Minutes to town and ocean beaches,Delicious waffles inc in cont. breakfast. All rooms dripping in charm from hand painted walls to slanted ceilings with skylights. All rooms had antique iron beds. King master suite with fireplace, two bedroom suite sleeps 5. Situatated on one acre with garden and pool.All rooms with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mainstay Inn Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing