We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, friendly hostess” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Easterner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easterner Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Large fridge and full set of stoves. Chairs outside and close to the highway. Friendly hostess and family run. She let us check out a bit later too. Stayed here with my family on way back to Manhattan from Montauk after the 155 mile bike ride there. Great place. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nightdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternerMotel, Owner at Easterner Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. They are greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
20
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This place brings me back to my old summer vacation days of the '60s...and not much has been updated since. For what it is, one of the least expensive places to stay in the Hamptons, it fits the bill. Firm but comfortable bed with clean sheets, great little kitchenette with stove & modest size refrigerator. It's a clean enough place to sleep close to towns and beaches if you don't mind a few cracks in the plaster walls, cobwebs in the corner and a few mold spots...this is a wooded and beach environment with high humidity so some of this is to be expected. It is a bit noisy. We were woken by our neighbors returning and them having a conversation in the wee hours of the morning, nearby roosters crowing through the night, and the train whistling and passing by. Owner is very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank metalmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternerMotel, Owner at Easterner Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for bring these things to my attention. I shall do my very best to rectify the housekeeping issues you raised. Sincerely, Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very friendly owner who gave great advice on restaurants, shopping and travel tips. Rooms very well equipped and clean. Some of the equipment is a bit tired and noisy (fridge) but very functional. Great location and value.

Room Tip: They are all very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternerMotel, Owner at Easterner Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. I am grateful to you for taking the time to write a review and I hope that you and your daughter enjoyed the rest of your trip. Best regards, Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Southampton is very pricey, so tis is a great place to stay if you don't care about the frills and want to splurge on fine restaurants. The owner, Fran, truly care about your comfort, and is a rich resource for local attractions. She has a beach pass that is available for your use. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was indeed one of the most special little hideaways we have experienced. It is tucked away on 2.5 acres of huge, lovely trees, providing a rural ambience, yet offering a most convenient location to activities. Fran, the vivacious owner, lives on the property and is always there to assist in any way possible. She has tons of information about what to do in this interesting, lovely area. The room was 100% clean, inviting, homey, comfortable, and secure. The pool was very clean and refreshing. We played tennis on her court. The price was very reasonable, too. All in all, we strongly recommend that you stay here when visiting the beautiful Hamptons. What a restful vacation!

Room Tip: All see to be quiet and similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Screaminglyfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this charming motel in the woods, The Easterner. My business partner and I have stayed there when doing business in the Hamptons several times over the last two summers. It is always a wonderful experience, located in a quaint camp-ground like atmosphere tucked back in the woods with nicely converted stand alone duplex-style bulidings that were renovated from an old 1950's motel. It is squeaky clean, quiet, with stylish modern amenities, and full kitchens in the rooms. The mattresses are firm and new, and I seem to sleep better here than I do at home! Fran, the proprietress is an absolute treasure. She is extremely helpful, friendly and a real love. The Easterner is located on the outskirts of Southampton, away from the hustle and bustle further east into the Hamptons proper. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in the Hamptons, and have truly found my home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomaslp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The motel rooms were very nice and clean and equipped with everything needed (kitchenette, microwave, eating table). Fran the owner was very helpful and even drove us to town, to the beach and to the station as we had no car and it was too far to walk to these places (I would definitely recommend to come by car).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
1.6 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.5 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.6 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easterner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easterner Motel

Property: Easterner Motel
Address: 639 Montauk Hwy, Southampton, NY 11968-4116
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Easterner Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Shinnecock Hills, Southampton, the Easterner is a small, quiet motel, perfect for escaping into the relaxing atmosphere of the Hamptons. All our rooms include full kitchens, A/C and private baths. Just minutes to the ocean, we also have a pool and tennis court for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Easterner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easterner Hotel Southampton
Easterner Motel Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing