We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room #5 if you would like a decent night sleep!”
Review of 1708 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1708 House
Ranked #2 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2009

All the positive reviews of the B&B are true.....beautiful antiques, spotless rooms, charming wine cellar, delicious breakfast and close to everything. On our recent visit to Southampton, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to this well respected B&B. We would like to let future guests thinking of spending a special occasion at the Inn of the problem we encountered. We arrived and checked into Room #5, a small, but adequate, room on the first floor. At 12:45 AM we were awakened by very loud noises from guests directly above our room. I called the inn keeper and she explained it was a late check-in. EVERY noise from their walking, unpacking, opening of drawers, and flushing of the toilet was magnified and transferred directly down into our room. We asked to be moved to another room but the innkeeper stated it was not possible. The innkeeper said the noise would quiet down when the new arrivals went to bed. (Very consoling at 1:15 AM!). At breakfast the next morning there was another apology for the inconvenience, but no offer of an adjustment on our bill. If you are planning a special, and expensive, occasion at the 1708 House, I recommend a room on the second floor only. This was a very unpleasant stay and we are very disappointed that innkeepers of this caliber of a Bed & Breakfast have not reached out to compensate us in any way. I can only suggest they try sleeping in Room #5 one evening themselves!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbrbagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 17, 2011

We apologize for not addressing your review sooner. Please be assured we take complaints very seriously and take every opportunity to rectify problems. We understand a guest's frustrations when their stay does not meet their expectations.

As a luxurious historic inn, which has the honor of being included in the 2011 edition of Conde Nast's Johansens Recommended Hotels, Inns and Spas, all of us at The 1708 House aim to meet our guests' needs and provide them with a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We know that it may not be possible to please everyone all the time, but we strive to do our best to ensure warm and welcoming hospitality.

We invite you to contact us to discuss your past stay. For those of you who have not yet visited, we welcome you to come and experience all our property has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for 1708 House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

Travelled with a friend to Southampton for an Art Opening. Chose this hotel based in large part on the location... very near the Gallery. However when we checked in and every need was met and detail was attended to. The manager there now is fabulous... very accommodating, pleasant and well organized. I will go back there in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artbuff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We did not feel particularly welcome as we arrived after a long drive from Maplewood NJ when one of the owners (I believe) rudely interupted the member of staff that was checking us in with a request that she telephone restaurant X to make a booking for a different set of guests. Fortunately the next day we met a further female member of staff who was very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in room 5 on the ground floor (or first floor if you are American) and the only complaint we had was that the thick, wooden blinds at the windows provided doubtful privacy in both the main bedroom and the bathroom. In the latter the glass was not frosted so you might need to rely on the glass misting up (or shower in the dark)! The windows faced the main driveway from the road to the guest car park.

Breakfasts were substantial and offered a good variety. The open kitchen (subject to a service charge of 5% on your final bill) was a great touch once we got over our English reserve of going to help ourselves to drinks and snacks.

The other owner of 1708 (Skip I believe) provided interesting conversation at breakfast time on our last morning, really testing my knowledge of the US and UK political systems. This might not be to everyone's taste at breakfast time but I enjoyed it.

The location in Southampton is very central, but we laughed when we noticed that the website says that it is next door to Saks of Fifth Avenue, but does not mention that it is opposite CVS.

Finally, make sure you take a look downstairs in the wine cellar - a great feature.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoSoupForYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 17, 2011

We apologize for not addressing your review sooner. Please be assured we take complaints very seriously and take every opportunity to rectify problems. We understand a guest's frustrations when their stay does not meet their expectations.

As a luxurious historic inn, which has the honor of being included in the 2011 edition of Conde Nast's Johansens Recommended Hotels, Inns and Spas, all of us at The 1708 House aim to meet our guests' needs and provide them with a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We know that it may not be possible to please everyone all the time, but we strive to do our best to ensure warm and welcoming hospitality.

We invite you to contact us to discuss your past stay. For those of you who have not yet visited, we welcome you to come and experience all our property has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed Saturday night and were delighted with the house and the location, just a short walk into town with access to stylish shops and a variety of restaurants. The house has a fascinating history and is beautifully furnished with well chosen antiques. Our room (5)was spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. Lorraine and Skip were welcoming and helpful and the buffet breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-H-Coverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We chose to stay at the 1708 house after reading all of the wonderful reviews. This was our first trip to the Hamptons, and we really enjoyed our visit. Our accommodations were perfect - we had two rooms for the first night, and for the second night, we were in one of the cottages, with all of them beautifully decorated and very upscale, including top of the line amenities. The breakfast buffet was very nice, and there were afternoon treats - tea, cookies, and always complimentary cold beverages. The owners were very accommodating with regard to restaurant suggestions for dinner and also were very gracious hosts. We also learned about the history of the house including the restoration process. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful in answering our many questions about the area. We look forward to a return visit to the 1708 house.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetotravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We just returned from our stay at this charming B & B. The rooms were decorated with various antiques and the tables in the dining room set with fine china. Everything walking distance and beach parking passes are available. All of the staff were very helpful and talkative especially the owner Skip. For breakfast we were offered something different each morning whether it was quiche, eggs or waffles and all was quite good. Would definately stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peter1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the 1708 House in Southampton. It is a charming and immaculate B&B right in town, walkable to all, and were very happy with our stay there.
The staff was always willing to chat, (especially Kiki) , give helpful hints for restaurants, etc, print up maps andn directions for side trips, etc.
The breakfast was included in the rate ,set in a beautiful dining room and was a buffet style, with a change offered of eggs, waffles or quiche. It was more than adequate. We paid $275.00 a night for Room 8 midweek, which was a fair price for this area of the Hamptons. It was a very comfortably sized room. with a queen bed.The only downside was hearing the people in the next room's shower early in the a.m.
All in all, we thoroughly recommend this place to stay when in Southampton.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OreoTrumbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.4 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
303 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
176 reviews
9.1 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Butler's Manor
A Butler's Manor
#1 of 6 in Southampton
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1708 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1708 House

Address: 126 Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-4835
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $140 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1708 House is an historic bed and breakfast in Southampton, located at 126 Main Street (next door to the former Saks Fifth Avenue). The house was known to exist in 1708 and has a museum-like cellar dating to approximately 1648 which is open to its guests as a cozy getaway for a game of chess or cards, in front of a roaring fire. Filled with fabulous furnishings, the inn boasts modern amenities such a wireless internet access and flat screen TVs/DVD players in every room. In addition, the property has two-bedroom cottages which are perfect for families. Its central location in the Village is perfect for walking to shops, galleries, restaurants, the renowned ocean beaches, which are only a mile away, and many points of interest in the area. Stays include a sumptuous daily breakfast and afternoon tea to be enjoyed in the formal living room, or inviting library, both of which have fireplaces. Beach parking passes for both Village and Town beaches are available. The 1708 House welcomes you to come and experience all our unique property has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1708 House Hotel Southampton
1708 House Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing