We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1708 House
Ranked #2 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I were here for our honeymoon in Oct '13. We fell in love with the place and the staff. Linda was very informative and helpful. Anything we needed she readily assisted with. We will definitely be coming back in the future. We highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eutimio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 134 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at the 1708 House several times and have always had a wonderful experience. The accommodations are clean and spacious (in particular, room 9). We also enjoy the complimentary wine and snack in the afternoon after a long day out enjoying the beautiful East end of Long Island. The breakfast is also very nice. Be sure to check out the Wine Cellar too and play a game of chess or checkers! Overall, it's a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This bed and breakfast is so cute and the staff are so nice. The woman who works the front desk is so friendly and took the time to tour the house with us. She recommended restaurants in the area that were really great. The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance. The owner was also very pleasant to talk to. He told stories about the house. The breakfast was perfect to start the day and everyone there was so friendly, which made the stay even better. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel811972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a charming B&B in the perfect location in Southampton. We stayed in Room C in the 21st Century Annex. The rooms and house are definitely old-fashioned, but the bathroom was modern, the bed was comfortable, and the linens were great. Our room was small, but there are lots of common areas to enjoy both inside and out. We especially loved the porch right outside our room. The B&B is at the beginning of main street, so you can easily walk to tons of shops and restaurants. The beach is about a 20 minute walk, so it would be a long way to walk with your beach gear - but they have beach parking passes that you can use. The breakfast was great - they have a nice spread, and make eggs to order. They had a fridge full of water and soda available at all times, which is a really nice touch. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CateyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wonderful house, great location-park your car and never get back in it during your stay. Walk to shops, restaurant, beach.
Love the people that work at this house-breakfast was great. You can eat alone, or with others in a cozy dining room....the best of both worlds.
Has the feel of a small inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are going to Southampton and don't want to drive a lot this place is for you. In the heart of town, you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. It was a real plus not having to deal with parking and traffic constantly, which is an unavoidable casualty of the hamptons in summer.

The decor keeps with the feel of this vintage house but there were all of the modern amenities. The bed was very comfortable and had nice linens bathroom had great modern shower. It is an old house so you can hear the steps creek and low voices, but it wasn't an issue at all.

The house has a big friendly staff that kept things running very smoothly - any needs you had were responded to quickly.

The dining room is so beautiful, they keep the table set with gorgeous china all the time. A big breakfast is served each morning with many choices as well as a hot entree. There is tea later in the day with lots of snacks including wine and cheese. If you are planning a late dinner and skipped lunch, you will be satisfied.

The back of the house is private and you can sit and eat on the patio or relax on Adirondack chairs. The front of the house is on the main street, but at the end of town. This was not an issue at all from an activity or noise standpoint. We spent time on the rocking chairs in the front of the house and it was very pleasant and peaceful.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back. Some rooms are nicer than others, we had to move rooms (because we booked late) so we did see a difference - but the price was reflective of this, which was fair. The staff was very nice and moved our bags for us, so we had a smooth transition.

Room Tip: The main building seemed to have the better rooms. If you have an issue with steps make sure you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unwined91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were out for the week of the 2013 Women's Golf Open and this was the perfect spot for us to stay. It is located in the village walkable to many restaurants and shops. It is quiet with just the right amount of 'good mornings' and 'good evenings' to fellow guests.

Breakfast was adequate and fresh, coffee really good and you can help yourself if you rise a little before breakfast begins (8:00 a.m.) and want a go cup. For that matter, the kitchen frig has plenty of a wide variety of 'help yourself' drinks from water to V8 to Snapple. What was really nice was the chilled wine and accompanied snacks laid waiting for us in late afternoon (in the open parlor area) when we got back in from the course. Just what was needed, along with lots of places to sit a rest, read or close your eyes.

The bathroom was small, but that wasn't unexpected. The proprietors friendly and helpful.

Only one issue I would raise....if you are a stickler for your own pillow - bring it. As with all beds and bedding that are not our own, it may be hard to find a pillow you are happy with...although they will try.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
309 reviews
9.1 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Butler's Manor
A Butler's Manor
#1 of 6 in Southampton
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latch Pop-Up Inn
Latch Pop-Up Inn
#4 of 6 in Southampton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1708 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1708 House

Address: 126 Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-4835
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $140 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1708 House is an historic bed and breakfast in Southampton, located at 126 Main Street (next door to the former Saks Fifth Avenue). The house was known to exist in 1708 and has a museum-like cellar dating to approximately 1648 which is open to its guests as a cozy getaway for a game of chess or cards, in front of a roaring fire. Filled with fabulous furnishings, the inn boasts modern amenities such a wireless internet access and flat screen TVs/DVD players in every room. In addition, the property has two-bedroom cottages which are perfect for families. Its central location in the Village is perfect for walking to shops, galleries, restaurants, the renowned ocean beaches, which are only a mile away, and many points of interest in the area. Stays include a sumptuous daily breakfast and afternoon tea to be enjoyed in the formal living room, or inviting library, both of which have fireplaces. Beach parking passes for both Village and Town beaches are available. The 1708 House welcomes you to come and experience all our unique property has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1708 House Hotel Southampton
1708 House Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing