We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Lovely.”
Review of 1708 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1708 House
Ranked #2 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. We took a cottage, as we have a 2 year old, and couldn't have been more comfortable. The cottages are spacious and well appointed, the hotel is lovingly restored to a high standard, the molton brown bathroom liquids are a nice touch, as is the breakfast, although we were on eggshells in case our little one did some damage to the fine china.
We were snowed in through the Nemo weekend, and John and Frank from the hotel spent around a half-hour helping me dig out my car, eventually getting some boards and pushing out the car. John, Skip and Linda were very welcoming and friendly and made it feel like a home away from home. You shouldn't need any more convincing to book this hotel based on pretty much all the reviews in here, but seriously, book it. You won't be dissappointed. This is one of the best establishments I've stayed in in the US.

Room Tip: The cottages are beautiful. Pay a bit more and go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sports-bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose the weekend of the Blizzard for our quiet getaway. It was a beautiful setting, warm and cozy. The staff made us feel right at home. The rooms are beautifully done. We hope to go back when the weather is more favorable for sight-seeing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

“In the 20+ years I’ve been summering in Southampton, I’d never stayed at or visited 1708 House. Always charming looking from the exterior – no matter what the season; but especially in autumn and winter with its tiny white lights and historic colonial structure. What I’d not imagined, was how truly spectacular and architecturally important the interior is! In my opinion, this is one of the country’s highest quality inns. Mahagony wood-pannelled throughout, with an impressive array of antiques (and some tasteful reproductions), very comfy, elegant rooms ranging in size but all in their handsome style. The two studies and living rooms plus the large basement game room and bar/wine cellar make for a great social capability amongst guests or those who come as friends.”

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the 1708 House on many occasions, and have always found each experience to be consistently excellent. We would choose no other place to stay when visiting our daughter who lives in a nearby township. The restoration itself is outstanding, the service most accommodating, and the opportunity for privacy and relaxation very comforting.

Dr and Mrs Robert Doherty

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had an amazing experience with the 1708 house over memorial day weekend. My boyfriend and I came here to celebrate my birthday...and also for a suprise proposal! He was in touch with the innkeepers/managers for weeks before the big day. They were extremely helpful in assisting with making our room romantic and magical! Th staff went out of their way to decorate our room with flowers/candles/strawberries and champagne. It was an amazing weekend. We will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 and it was perfect! super comfy king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff was very accommodating, excellent ambiance and service. We spent a week and were the only ones there; the price was excellent ($140/day); great food for breakfast and plenty wine, cookies, coffee, tea after 3 pm. Thank you Linda, John and Skip for making our stay an wonderful experience.Looking forward to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

1708 House Is a charming old historic B&B, in a wonderful location in Southampton. The building has been wonderfully restored, and the wine Cellar shows off the original old foundations. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
We arrived on a Sunday evening in mid September, and there was a buffet with Tea, coffee and small cakes and chocolates available for the guests.
The first contact with any staff [a nod] was received the next morning at breakfast. We sat and had breakfast from the buffet set up where the tea and coffee had been the previous evening. We helped ourselves, and at no time were we engaged by the staff, who were busy talking in the kitchen.
The next afternoon, the tea and cakes were set up, and we were advised by one staff member that if anything ran out, "just help yourself in the kitchen".

The next morning was a repeat of the previous one, and I remarked to my wife " Am I wearing the Do Not Disturb" sign on my forehead?

I had decided to not post a review, as we were completely unimpressed. [We had spent the previous 4 weeks in numerous small hotels and B&B's and never encountered such disinterest from the owners]. I have posted reviews on many of those fine B&B's that we had stayed in.

I was prompted to post, as there was a post with similar instance where there was 'No bacon". Well we never had eggs. Nobody came and said that there was a hot breakfast. All we could hear was a noise of people having a long chat in the kitchen.

1708 is a lovely and charming B&B with so much character, only let down by inconsiderate and disinterested staff. The only verbal contact was made when the account was settled.

Basil Fawlty would have been proud of your efforts !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaE0723, Manager at 1708 House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Many thanks for the positive comments and compliments. We are glad you appreciated the charm of one of Southampton Village’s oldest properties.

With respect to your displeasure with breakfast, I would like to share with other readers that we offer our many guests a sumptuous “serve yourself” cold buffet which lasts close to three hours; and, in addition, cooked eggs upon request. Guests are welcome to let a staff member know their desire for eggs. However, as a B&B and not a restaurant, we do not have waitstaff. Guests are invited to sit wherever they chose in our dining room and our staff is on hand to replenish food items and clear tables, as needed. As the reviewer mentioned, there is a complimentary daily afternoon tea service, also set up as a buffet. In addition, our refrigerator is stocked with complimentary soft drinks to which guests are welcome.

Our policy is that our staff be friendly but not too familiar, a fine line indeed. We are here to help, but also we respect the privacy of our many guests. As one can imagine, some guests are very social and seek out conversations, while others wish to keep to themselves. We pride ourselves on successfully differentiating between the two on most occasions, but perfection is not always possible.

And the reference to Fawlty Towers – the quintessential comedy about the foibles of everyday life in a B&B and a wonderful commentary on human nature – our favorite! To quote the Fawlty website, “Fawlty runs a hotel amidst farcical situations and an array of demanding and eccentric guests”. If The Major were to be our guest, I would imagine he would say, “Well, done Mr. Fawlty”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
309 reviews
9.1 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Butler's Manor
A Butler's Manor
#1 of 6 in Southampton
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latch Pop-Up Inn
Latch Pop-Up Inn
#4 of 6 in Southampton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1708 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1708 House

Address: 126 Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-4835
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $140 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1708 House is an historic bed and breakfast in Southampton, located at 126 Main Street (next door to the former Saks Fifth Avenue). The house was known to exist in 1708 and has a museum-like cellar dating to approximately 1648 which is open to its guests as a cozy getaway for a game of chess or cards, in front of a roaring fire. Filled with fabulous furnishings, the inn boasts modern amenities such a wireless internet access and flat screen TVs/DVD players in every room. In addition, the property has two-bedroom cottages which are perfect for families. Its central location in the Village is perfect for walking to shops, galleries, restaurants, the renowned ocean beaches, which are only a mile away, and many points of interest in the area. Stays include a sumptuous daily breakfast and afternoon tea to be enjoyed in the formal living room, or inviting library, both of which have fireplaces. Beach parking passes for both Village and Town beaches are available. The 1708 House welcomes you to come and experience all our unique property has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1708 House Hotel Southampton
1708 House Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing