We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food in a Comfortable Setting”

Southampton Publick House
Ranked #53 of 171 Restaurants in Southampton
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Formerly the Driver's Seat,for many years,this is a laid back place to enjoy good food at a reasonable price. The Hamptons are known for their "In-Spots" where the rich and famous dine on dishes offered up at obscene prices ,covered with stuff you'd need to scrape off in order to actually enjoy. This "Pub" is opened-up and airy and offers good food,with no pretenses. Highly recommended for Hamptons visitors who don't need to be part of "The beautiful people" crowd.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teach_Travel_REC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I went to Publick House for a date night- disappointing: No wine list - wine selection minimal. (Do you want white or red?) We waited forever for the appetizer- when it came —- Buffalo wings were very good. Entree- Prime Rib- served cold and very fatty. Music from the bar was loud and annoying - total downer for dinner- made the dining room seem like an after thought. Didn’t bother with dessert . Hope they get their act together - this should be a good place for dinner but just isn’t. Which may be their goal- not sure.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank kathym0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

Way back when my children were growing up SPH on Bowden Square was our go to place when friends and family were visiting as it was relatively inexpensive, was large so kids could move around when restless, and the kids menu was good. My husband and I were back in Southampton recently and decided to stop in their new place on Jobs Lane. The location is prime for a lunch amidst all the hoopla going on in the village on any given day. We waited for awhile to be acknowledged by anybody.. hostess, owner, any staff. When we finally were, it was the owner that was chatting with some other diners right in front of us. Hmm.... We sat inside as it was still to cold to enjoy their outdoor patio. The waitress was good, the food options plentiful, but both our meals were dry and not appropriately seasoned. We left without a goodbye or have a nice day or thank you for coming, which we always received when dining at their former location. Oh well.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusB962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We stopped in for lunch in Southampton on our way to Montauk. After browsing several expensive and "too uppity" places, we stumbled upon the Southampton Publick House. It seemed welcoming and inviting to "ordinary people." It was crowded, but not too so, on a fall Sunday in the early afternoon. My salad was very tasty and my husband enjoyed his hamburger and fries. It was a bit pricier than "normal," but not too much so--and that is too be expected in the Hamptons. Best of all, two Midwesterners didn't feel out of place. Thanks, Publick House!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JustaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Great location for this upbeat craft beer/bar. They do not brew their own beer at this new location. Their beers are excellent. They have seasonal beers ....my favorite being Pumpkin Ale. The food is always good and very fresh. Their ribs are delicious along with their steak salad. their waitstaff is efficient and friendly. They are very accommodating with menu choices. They have indoor and outdoor seating. They also have an outdoor bar during the warm weather under a big tent which is enjoyable. Their restrooms are downstairs but they do have a handicapped bathroom on the main level.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Topgun95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southampton Publick House also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Southampton
 

Been to Southampton Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing