We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with gorgeous view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jamesport Bay Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Jamesport
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with gorgeous view”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We didn't have a place to stay and randomly called on a few places. The owner Mike was super friendly and nice. The rooms are big and clean. And on top of that, there is no better view, the rooms are right on the beach overlooking the ocean!
We would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabs1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been here several times before. I was a bit nervous to find that the business had changed ownership. I was pleasantly surprised to see that there have been extensive upgrades and improvements to the grounds, the rooms and the common areas. There is also a definite ownership presence that was not visible in the past.
The staff is very proud of the changes and improvements and are eager to tell you all about them. They are very helpful providing information about local activities and rerstaurants to enjoy.
The entire experience during my stay was wonderful.
I would highly recommend the Jamesport Bay Suites for couples, families or groups.

Room Tip: Facing the water is definitely the first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank resiegno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family of four love this area for vacationing in summer and fall months. We discovered Jamesport Bay Suites about 2 years ago. It is in a perfect location for swimming, walking, relaxing and getting around to all of your local favorite spots. Love having a full kitchen and bbq for cooking with local produce and fresh caught fish. Rooms are clean and grounds are looking awesome this summer. The staff are also very welcoming and friendly. My kids love meeting other children and playing in the common area. Great time had by all each time we visit. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Okkk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Me and my fiancé LOVED our stay here. I was a little sceptic to book this place because of some negative reviews but when we arrived, this hotel exceeded our expectations!
The rooms were so clean and looked as if they were recently renovated which was a nice surprise. The grounds were adorable and it was so quiet and peaceful at night. We were looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway and the bayview suites definitely gave us that!
The one and only negative I would have is that they were doing renovations on the entire place when we were staying there so all we would hear (if we decided to stay at the beach there) was construction all day long. One of the main reasons we picked this location was because of the private beach but because of all the hammering and construction we heard, which was not relaxing, it forced us to leave during the day.
I really wished they would have accommodated us in some way for the noise, whether they discounted the room or given us a free night, etc. it would have been nice but it wouldn't stop us from staying here again.
Overall our stay here was exactly what we were looking for. A quaint and cozy stay with a touch of romance. I think for the cost, it was perfect and I would definitely recommend someone to stay here, after the renovations are done.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmileyJen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Vintage 1970. Nothing is new and clean about this motel. We stayed there for a few nights thinking it would be a great escape and getaway for the whole family. Not really. The room had a funky, mildew smell and the ac hardly worked. The beds might also be 40 years old. We couldn't get a good night sleep. We will not be going back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nopatients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Jamesport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Motel On The Bay 9/21 - 9/23. The view was incredible, literally ON the bay. we had a 1 bedroom with an eat-in-kitchen and living room. There was a nice patio with furniture so we could sit and soak up the sun. The entire space just needed updating. Beds were not comfortable and things seeemed very dated. The staff was very nice and the restaurant was yummy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snix25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a motel. It smells like stale smoke (someone has smoked in that room before - or it could be just the smell of the office / manager's apartment- she's a major smoker). The mattresses are very uncomfortable. The rooms are just plain old shabby (not chic). It needs a major overhaul - kitchen, bath, everything.

Location, however, is terrific. It has a beautiful beach and view of the Bay and is close to wineries, restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynBaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Jamesport
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
16.0 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
15.0 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamesport Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamesport Bay Suites

Property: Jamesport Bay Suites
Address: 67 Front Street, South Jamesport, NY 11970 (Formerly Motel on the Bay)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > South Jamesport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Jamesport Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel On The Bay Hotel South Jamesport
Hotel On The Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing