We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated entrance. STILL A DUMP. STAY AWAY!”
Review of Raleigh Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Fallsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raleigh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Fallsburg
Monticello, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated entrance. STILL A DUMP. STAY AWAY!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nicely renovated entrance. STILL A DUMP. STAY AWAY! Most of the rooms have been not renovated in many, many years. The desk staff are extremely unprofessional. The Super 8 on Broadway in Monticello is recommended over this place! Avoid Shwarma King and the new name for this same exact dirty dump across from the decent Super 8.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. But ask if they recently renovated any of their rooms and stay in one of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CONCERNED613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mister L, Manager at Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
This is not the type of review we want to see. It's important to us that our guests have comfortable and relaxing stays. My staff and I want nothing more than to provide you with a great getaway, so to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us is truly disappointing. Had you raised concerns while with us, we would have happily worked to correct every thing.

Thanks,
Mr. Lerner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    7
    0
    8
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I heard every sound from the next room.. Even the smell came into my room! And I found a unidentified object in the lobby in the couch and it was dated October 12th 1896 and that right there my friends is just about when this place was booming.. Its time for this place to close down and sell it to hollywood.. They cud make some serious movie outa that building..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fallsbergrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mister L, Manager at Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
A stay with us should be a time to relax and enjoy the scenery of our land. Knowing that your time was filled with distractions from the next room is really disappointing, and I'm so sorry to hear about it. While this was left a year ago, please know had you alerted us to noise and smells, we would have happily moved you to a different, quieter room.

Best,
Mr. Lerner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is crumbling. It is very old and very poorly maintained. It is a dump! Check out the Super 8 on Broadway in Monticello for a better place! They keep fridges in the rooms. Avoid Shwarma king. It is also a dirty place and a dump.

Room Tip: Stay away. Check out the Super 8 on Broadway in Monticello!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CONCERNED613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mister L, Manager at Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
I'm so sorry to hear you feel this way about our hotel. We've been working hard to renovate and repair, and now our rooms are full of new furniture and fixtures. Had there been some issues with your room during your stay, we would have been more than happy to help you.

Thanks,
Mr. Lerner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I really wish I didn't waste my time and money on this place. I was hoping for a nice relaxing vacation and all i got was rude staff, dirty, stinky rooms, the food was ok, but too greasy and unsanitary. I could not wait to get out of that place. i was afraid to feed my kids with that food because i was worried of how it was prepared, i found a hair in my soup! The smell in that hotel was so disgusting, you could see right away and it has not been renovated in ages. Moreover, they really should advertise themselves that they only cater to the Orthodox community. We could not use the pool as a family because they have separate schedules for men and women. DONT GO THERE!!! you will be highly disappointed, this place is a dump!! Department of health should really pay them a visit as soon as possible before someone really gets sick from the mold, unsanitary food preparation and maybe even unsafe buildings and grounds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gveret26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mister L, Manager at Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
I'm sure you can imagine how disappointed I am to read this. I definitely understand that when you have a vacation, you want to be able to relax and enjoy the company of your family -- I apologize you didn't get to experience that. If you were displeased with your room, or linens, we would have been happy to move you or provide you with what you needed.

As for the pool issues, we will look into how to make sure all of our guests are able to enjoy it.

Thanks,
Mr. Lerner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for several days over a weekend in June 2011. The hotel is in the process of being upgraded, section by section. It was purchased several years ago by Chassidic Jews and turned into a kosher hotel and resort. During this time, the hotel has undergone several minor improvements, but really needs a major renovation. The hotel has a very drab exterior and dilapidated lobby area. Some of the rooms have been renovated and are solid 3 star quality. Others are poorly done and are maybe 2 stars at best. There are no TVs in the rooms. Unfortunately, much of the hotel still requires extensive renovation as the peeling paint old, worn out carpeting and wallpaper are rather ubiquitous. On the plus side, the food served is very good and plentiful and the main ballroom has been partially renovated and is certainly suitable for any major event. The building and surrounding ground are quite large, allowing for the hotel to someday regain its former splendor.

Room Tip: Good food. Poorly maintained building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vortmax36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mister L, Manager at Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave this! We know you stayed with us a few years ago, but would still like to address some of your concerns. Like you mentioned, we've been renovating a lot of the hotel. The lobby is now renovated and is a beautiful welcoming sight to our guests and many of the rooms are brand new. We hope if you're ever in the area, you'll come see how much we've changed!

Best,
Mr. Lerner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This place is just old and run down. The room is a joke for 169 dollars. The food is good but that is about it. When I went to get a pillow for some friends in my room, the guy asked, " do you sleep with two pillows at your house" well most people do dont go

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bkaplan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

i went there with the family a few times in the last year we all enjoyed it the food was somthing out of this word looking forward to the next time

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sruli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fallsburg
4.4 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
3.8 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
275 reviews
12.1 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
433 reviews
18.6 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Hotel

Property: Raleigh Hotel
Address: 680 Heiden Rd, South Fallsburg, NY 12779
Location: United States > New York > South Fallsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Fallsburg
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich greenery and backdrop of the Catskills mountainous splendor, the Raleigh Hotel offers luxurious accommodations, event halls, delectable meals, and more. Make your reservation today! Walk in and relax in our comfortable and elegant, newly redesigned lobby; stay in one of our 300 newly renovated guest rooms which are sure to appeal to everyone in your family. During your time with us, make sure to check out our outdoor pool, or our luxurious heated indoor pool for some swimming fun. We also have outdoor playgrounds and sports fields for the children. Take a peaceful walk on one of our trails and come back for a delectable dinner. We offer affordable Shabbos meals with Raleigh flavor and are presented buffet style in the center of our elegant dining ballroom. Our menu is unique and lavish and we can tailor our food to any specifications. Our event halls are second to none and we offer rooms and catering for all occasions of pretty much any size. Consider us for your next holiday, reunion, professional, or corporate event. Call for reservations! We are open weekends year-round, but will take a group for an event during the week. Call and talk with us today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing