We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Sodus Point!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sodus Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Sodus Point B&B and Inns
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE place to stay in Sodus Point!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Going to the Carriage House Inn is like going to visit a friend or family member's home. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfasts rival any at your favorite restaurant. The rooms were nicely decorated; fresh and attractive. We had the suite since there were 3 of us traveling together and it was the perfect set up for us.
The Inn is a beautiful, well maintained home that is surrounded by mature trees and gardens and a sweet gazebo. Just a block away from Sodus Point where you can enjoy the beautiful views of the water and landscaping and tour the lighthouse museum. Thanks to Jerry and Claudine for making our trip one to remember

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a wonderful one night stay here recently on our way to Niagara Falls, Canada. We arrived just as freshly baked homemade chocolate chip cookies were coming out of the oven. Our room was very clean and comfortable and very nicely decorated. Great location -steps away from Lake Ontario. We had a delicous generous breakfast cooked by Jerry.
Inn was quiet and comfortable and room was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Under a new management, the Carriage House Inn is a very pleasant Bed and Breakfast Inn.
The inn has 3 rooms, one on the ground floor and 2 on the first floor.
The rooms are clean, comfortable, and very pleasantly decorated.
The in also features a nice sitting room with a fireplace.
The lawn stretches to the beach area.
An excellent breakfast was cooked fresh by the owner Jerry.
Prices are medium around $130 per night.

Room Tip: Higher units are larger, but have no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We made a trip back to the area with our 16 year old son. He was interested in seeing the area where he was born. It had been several years so we also decided to take in some other sites. Sodus Point is a short drive to Watkins Glenn as well as Niagra Falls. The Carriage House Inn is (literally) a stones throw from Lake Ontario and is on some beautiful property. We walked on the beach down to the light house on the break water one evening, it was a pleasant walk and the first time for us to be at Lake Ontario. The rooms and the inn were very well kept and comfortable. Jerry and Claudine are wonderful host and make everyone feel extremely welcome and at home. We stayed for three nights and the breakfast menu was different each morning. The baked French toast and the fruit medley are the best, Jerry makes great coffee and he does not let your cup go empty. We have already talked about a return trip and we will definitely stay with Jerry and Claudine again at their wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kansas552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Beautiful rooms with private baths. Immaculately clean, beautiful linens with pillows like clouds. Wonderful host and hostess. Not only were there delicious breakfasts but hot drinks and freshly baked cookes available all day. A refrigerator with water bottles for the guests and also to use if needed. Very scenic location with Lake Ontario and the Lighthouse museum a short walk away. I would give a stay here as a special anniversary gift. There is even a downstairs bedroom for those who might have trouble with the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and our 15 month old son had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. but had visited Sodus Point a few times.found this B&B online and thought it was quant.My husband booked a room for the weekend without me knowing,we got there and met Jerry and Claudine and they were very friendly and respectful.looked at a couple rooms they were beautiful rooms and very tidy.Looking online I saw a room and my heart was set on it,minutes we had that room.it was so comfortable and Jerry and Claudine were the best of hosts,the breakfast was amazing and they had a high chair for our son.And who can forget the beyond amazing view of Lake Ontario from our room.I loved it there couldnt ask for a better Mother's Day gift!Counting the days until we come back.Thank you Jerry and Claudine for a very pleasant first time bed and breakfast experience!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msgasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Carriage House Inn B&B is heavenly. The hosts are charming, the house is truly lovely, cozy and immaculately clean, and the breakfasts delicious with a new menu every morning. I've never been so pampered or felt so comfortable staying at a bed and breakfast. The house is located a few steps from Lake Ontario and a beautiful park. I walked 15 minutes along the lake to a lighthouse to watch stunning sunsets over the water, and several mornings, the sunrise. The village, Sodus Point, NY, has half a dozen restaurants for lunch and dinner (I liked Captain Jack's, which reminded me of a British pub with its decor, friendliness and excellent fish and chips as well as other entrees). The only problem with the Carriage House was that after four nights (March 4-8, 2012), I did not want to go home. (PS, the complaints below were made prior to the new owners and are no longer valid!)

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary2753922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodus Point
1.9 mi away
Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Corner of Ontario St. & Wickham Blvd, Sodus Point, NY 14555
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Sodus Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sodus Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast is the place to stay when visiting or vacationing near Sodus Point, New York. Located adjacent to the historic Sodus Bay Lighthouse Museum, we are just a couple hundred yards from a walk on the beach of beautiful Lake Ontario. In our quiet neighborhood, experience the peace and beauty of the 1870 Victorian house. Whether you are relaxing from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind, enjoying the many water activities at the Point, sampling the products of our region’s orchards and wineries or traveling through on business, stop here to rest and rejuvenate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing