We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach”

Sodus Point Beach Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really like the lakefront beach but be aware that it might be closed sometimes due to algae in the water. If it's closed, they have swimming at a smaller beach across the road, it's on the bayside and the water isn't as nice and the beach is smaller. They check the water every day. We usually call ahead to see if the lakeside beach will be open.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie48345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Always love coming to this beach. The sand is clean. The kids always have fun.There is also a playground and concessions. There are lifeguards on duty and best of all it is free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank momofhappykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Birthday party fun”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to a birthday party here. The party was under the pavilion. You. An not reserve it but it is big enough for a few parties at the same time and it is free. There are places to grill that are fleas. There were very nice lifeguards on duty and the playground is very nice for all ages. It was a very clean, cheap and comfortable place to have a party or just hang out for the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TACahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of sand and fun!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved the beach and the light house and of course the ice cream stand near by...who also had great burgers!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patoka, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BRRRRRRR”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This would be a HUGE five, but it was ridiculously cold when I went. The water was clear, the sand was smooth, and the air was really swift. But the water shouldn't have been that cold in July. I had purple lips after five minutes. I did enjoy myself though, and I recommend this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sodus Point Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Sodus Point Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing