We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”
Review of Abe's Waterfront

Abe's Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 11 Restaurants in Sodus Point
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The bar inside was closed for a private party. We tried to get in on the upper level but they were charging a cover charge for a crappy band that could be heard across the bay, so why pay?? It was raining so outside, uncovered seating wasn't an option. The bar looked run down a bit so I don't think we missed much. We went to Captain Jack's and had a great time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rsc1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the better views of the water”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The lakeside seating is excellent and the food is average (good but nothing great). Abe's typically has very loud bands playing on the weekend which is often distracting. I would return for the view but not for the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martville, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went to Abes' for lunch - rainy day, but still nice water view. Reuben sandwich and wrap were
good - haddock sandwich was a disaster - two pieces of very overcooked fish that sure weren't
the normal haddock sandwiches we buy at other restaurants in the area. Fries come with the sandwiches and when we asked if we could have something else, waitress offered mashed potatoes and sweet potato fries. We ordered the sweet potato fries and when the check arrived,
they cost $1.00 more - not the money, just the fact that the waitress didn't mention an additional charge. Waitress was friendly and efficient -

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neverhome55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodus Point, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I tried it...might revisit”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Dining outside was awesome, with a beautiful view of the bay. Service was on the slow side and I had a bee in my wine. Obviously not the servers fault. She took it away and replaced it with another (20) minutes later. My hubby had a burger and fries which he said was just OK, I had chicken French which tasted like a soggy wet sock. Might try it again because the scenery is beautiful and the wine was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAS12211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, Nice view”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed another dinner at Abe's last night. Our kids and grandkids ALWAYS want to go to ABE'S when they are in town. (they are from the Midwest) Although it was a cold night, the view was still great, the drinks were wonderful (we got the recipe for one) and the food made everyone happy, so much food. We planned to split a shrimp asiago dish and they actually served it on 2 separate plates from the kitchen. We got our favorite waitress back, she was so great helping the kids chose from the menu and helping our 10 year old with a cake surprise for great-grandma.
Such wonderful personal service. You can't go wrong, just go when you have time to spend and you can enjoy the experience. Love it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe's Waterfront also viewed

 
Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Abe's Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing