We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family excursion!”

Wolf Mountain Nature Center
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Smyrna
Attraction details
New York
2 reviews
“A great family excursion!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

What a great place!! Absolutely worth the drive. But it's really best with a tour. Will is so knowledgeable and dedicated to his mission that you can't help but find the whole project fascinating. We only spent the afternoon there. But we're hoping to go back as volunteers in the summer to spend a couple days helping, camping in the tepees, and, hopefully, hearing the animals howl at night. Can't wait.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally off the Grid with Purpose!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Definitely worth the drive (and the price of admission). The Wolf Mountain Nature Center's knowledgeable staff & volunteers are dedicated to educating their visitors & committed to the importance of wolf and wildlife preservation. They answered all kinds of questions and thoughtfully explained the truths and myths about Wolves, Arctic Fox, and Coyotes. The animals are simply beautiful, truly loved and very well cared for. Will Pryor and the staff at Wolf Mountain Nature Center are awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenCooperstown_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, New York
1 review
“great place to visit & learn about wolves!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have visited this nature center on multiple occasions and each visit has been wonderful! Volunteer staff is very knowledgeable & friendly. Attended their annual "Honoring the Spirit of the Wolf" festival this past weekend (10-13-13) and had a blast! Although I agree w/ the prior review abt the driveway, I have found that in past visits, it was totally passable (tho 4 wheel drive vehicle is the best bet). Parking is ample and free! Again, in regards to the previous review abt admission fees, it WAS posted on the center's Facebook, website, & @ bottom of driveway in several places as to the SMALL admission fee of $5 which was totally reasonable considering all activities @ the event were FREE! Overall, a wonderful, relaxing, & educational place to visit and spend several hours!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

this is a really nice place for the kids although the drive way is horrible so unless you have a jeep or a truck or something with a high clearance be real careful. They also need to do something with the parking we were parked in the handicap section and had a hard time getting out because of the way the cars were parked. we had to wait for someone behind us to move so we could get out. We really like the place but should have been told you have to pay admission we thought it was free or a donation not a set price. although we love the place it just has some small problems to be fixed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank loisc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Please Help Them Out!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I found this place by accident several years ago on a trip with my father. The people are super nice, they are dedicated to the wolves and to educating the public.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Teeko93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Mountain Nature Center also viewed

Been to Wolf Mountain Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing