We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Night Out for the Family - Big Groups are Easily Accommodated”

Hotoke Japanese Steak House
Ranked #32 of 101 Restaurants in Smithtown
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out for the Family - Big Groups are Easily Accommodated”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We usually go to Hotoke once while I'm home visiting. The great part about Japanese steakhouses is that you all sit around the grill area and it's large. We are always a group of 10 - 13 and we can all see one another and carry on conversations. The kids still get a kick out of the chef flipping veggies in the air for all of us to catch in our mouths, the volcano they make out of a raw onion on the grill, and the rhythmic chanting where we all join in. My brother, sister-in-law, and her mother all enjoy the sushi dishes. The rest of us go for the hibatchi beef, chicken, and seafood. The fried rice is delicious (extra $), and you have a choice or white or brown instead. Your main dish comes with miso soup and a refreshing, small salad. Ask for a glass of water if you want it, they will not bring it if you don't ask.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“really good combination of hibachi and sushi”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we prefer not to go to the hibachi tables, but you can get hibachi at the regular sushi tables, and sushi as well. they always have great food on both accounts. The service staff is excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and great food!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited with a large group to celebrate a birthday. We had a great meal with 2 great hibachi chefs entertaining us!. There was a Groupon available, and the staff was nice enough to allow us to pay by family so we could all benefit from a groupon on our checks. The service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
193 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average Japanese”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Where do they get these Japanese students from that work at these places? Makes me wonder...
Atmosphere is dark, practically dismal. Staff zombie-like, can't blame them. Food is typical of these places. I like their lunch boxes. What does that say?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Mediocre Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I absolutely love Hotoke and go there often. The food is worth a five star rating, the wait staff is probably worth a two star rating. If you don't mind rude wait staff for the sake of absolutely delicious food, then definitely come to Hotoke. We go for Hibachi every time we come and the show is always, always fun. I highly recommend ordering the noodles - they are to die for. I am not a fan of sushi, but I hear that the sushi here is amazing. One thing to beware of - even if you have reservations, you could wind up waiting for your table for over an hour. Very frustrating. That's really my only gripe about Hotoke.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotoke Japanese Steak House also viewed

Carle Place, Long Island
 
Smithtown, Long Island
Smithtown, Long Island
 

Been to Hotoke Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing