We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Aji 53

Aji 53
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Smithtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: telephone 631-979-0697
St. James NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Husband and I basically dine at Aji 53 on the regular. The fish is super fresh the service is great and its not terribly expensive. The place also has a very cool and trendy atmosphere which is fun. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and if you do go the rock shrimp is a great appetizer!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCK_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Sushi; Best waitress ever!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The sushi is consistently fresh and delicious. It is presented with care and finesse. On our most recent visit we had the best server we have ever had at any sushi restaurant - Maggie. Wonderful personality and perfect service. We can't wait to go back. If you are looking for beautifully presented, very fresh and delicious sushi, you won't be disappointed. Ask for Maggie as your server!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudiHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nervous about Sushi? Come here to ease your nerves!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I must admit, I'm nervous about Sushi. I had a couple of bad experiences in my youth and I've avoided eating it like the plague. I was outvoted by a group of co-workers to come here and I figured I could always eat the tempura to "be safe."

Thankfully, a co-worker of mine told me to trust him and let him order. I re-iterated that I didn't want to eat anything that wasn't cooked....again, I was told to trust him.

First dish to hit the table, Spicy Tuna Sashimi, which is sliced tuna, and yes, it's raw, with jalapenos. Everybody except me tried it....everyone ranted and raved....I popped one in my mouth and was suprised as how incredibly delicious it was. I ate two!

Then, the signature rolls made their way out. Valentine roll, Snowflake roll, Paradise roll, Twister roll, and a salmon roll. Two of these are "cooked," but I didn't care anymore. Every single one of these that I tried was absolutely delicious. In an instant, Aji 53 has become one of my favorite restaurants and I'm already chomping at the bit to get back.

Oh, the ambiance, at least on a Thursday night at 9pm was fairly quiet. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful and make you feel like you're definitely a VIP.

Highly recommended, especially if you're nervous about enjoying a sushi experience. This place will convert you immediately.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
295 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Posh Sushi”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I thought the fish was very fresh. The presentation unique and service very good. We shared the daily catch; it was a golden snapper. The special was served sashimi style with the carcass wedged up on a plate of ice and the chuncks of fish scattered around the plate uniquely served. The rolls are reasonable, but overall a bit expensive. Judging by the incredible ambience and the amount of money spent on decor it can easliy be justified. The lighting was a bit too dim to read the menus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Insbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, city atmosphere, surprisingly delicious desserts!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoy their fresh sushi and the fun atmosphere. The prices seem about right for the food and service. The desserts are so delicious. Not what you might expect from a Japanese restaurant. My only and biggest complaint about this place is that the hostess walks around in a skirt way too small for her and she looked about 15 years old. Totally unnecessary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy_sima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji 53 also viewed

Smithtown, Long Island
Smithtown, Long Island
 
Smithtown, Long Island
 

Been to Aji 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing