We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”

Butera's Restaurant of Smithtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Butera's Restaurant of Smithtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 101 Restaurants in Smithtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Landing Avenue
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The linguini with white clam source is super delicious. I have gone to several times and each time we won't miss the family-size pasta. The server Nancy is great, btw.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't like giving bad or semi-bad reviews but this place just doesn't warrant the high reviews I've seen on TA. I don't know what type of Italian food these other people who reviewed this place on TA are used to eating.. but the food here was mediocre at best. We ate here this past weekend with some friends, we had reservations for 8pm and arrived before that time. We were told the eat would be 5-10 mins, but it turned into nearly an hour. I hate when restaurants do that..just be honest and tell the truth..at least people can then decide to leave an go somewhere else instead of waiting around for longer than told. Anyway, the food and service was OK, but that's it. The appetizer's - the Calamari and Buratta Mozzeralla were pretty good. I can't say the same for the main courses - the Brisket special and the Pasta w/Chicken Bolognese special. Brisket was too salty and the tortellini it came with was too soft. The Pasta/Chicken Bolognese was also a mish-mash of salty chicken meat sauce mixed with overcooked pasta. I know sometimes restaurants have a bad night..but we had the specials and so there's no excuse for messing them up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A consistent gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love coming here! The food is always great and service impeccable! Other than the fact that it is always crowded, you can always get a good drink at the bar first:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
456 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We love this place! Excellent service and food! Never had a bad meal here and we've come for both lunch and dinner, several times. The wait staff is very accommodating and let you relax, without ever pressuring you to leave. Last time we were here for 3 hours, just enjoying our meal and talking! A very big selection of menu items, so whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here! Lunch specials are a very good deal, too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great place for Italian food just off Main Street in Smithtown, NY this restaurant provides great food and extra large portions. Even their 1/2 portions are more than enough for 2 people. I had the Baked Clams for an appetizer, the clams were on the small side but delicious. For the main course I shared a Stuffed Veal Chop platter that had 3 large veal chops on it with a side of spaghetti with garlic and oil....the chops were tender and tasty and the pasta was seasoned just right. The service was excellent and considering the size of the portions served the price is right. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone crazing a delicious Italian meal in a fine dining environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butera's Restaurant of Smithtown also viewed

Smithtown, Long Island
 
Smithtown, Long Island
Smithtown, Long Island
 
Smithtown, Long Island
Smithtown, Long Island
 

Been to Butera's Restaurant of Smithtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing