We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful views

The pictures we took here looked like a postcard, all that autumn is supposed to be, with the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
NJM2012
,
New York, United States
via mobile
Knickerbocker Tour

We took the one hour Knickerbocker Tour. Sandy, our tour guide, was great at keeping everyone... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
litraveler2016
,
Levittown, New York
Read all 466 reviews
  
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
294
117
26
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
117
26
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lantern tour andrew carnegie headless horseman old dutch church buried here night tour washington irving free map final resting place walking tour walk around irving family self guided civil war mayhem tour great place to visit lots of history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The pictures we took here looked like a postcard, all that autumn is supposed to be, with the changing colors of the trees in the hills and the brook. The mausoleums were a little creepy but so interesting to look at, very peaceful place.

Thank NJM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We took the one hour Knickerbocker Tour. Sandy, our tour guide, was great at keeping everyone interested. This tour included a stop at Washington Irving's grave and gave an overview of his life. There are stops at other interesting gravesites and stories that go along with them. This cemetery is massive and this was a great way to see part of it.

1  Thank litraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What a gorgeous place especially during foliage season. And so easy to get to from Manhattan. Only an hour on Metro North.

1  Thank EdSalvato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We toured this on a beautiful fall day. Between the colours of changing leaves and all the monuments it was a very good day. We had a map we followed, and made our way around taking in all that was to be seen. So much history !

Thank Clappyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful cemetery with beautiful scenery. My girlfriend and I visited the cemetery on 2 occasions. We booked the Murder and Mayhem evening lantern tour and heard stories regarding an axe murder as well as The Sleepy Hollow Massacre, also saw the large Cross from the Pet Sematary music video. We visited the site during the day and spent hours just wandering the 90 acre site. Tons of maples in all different shades adorn the landscape with beautiful markers throughout. Washington Irving is buried here and you find his grave easily from the South gate entrance, just look for the Irving family plot just past the initial yard from the Old Dutch church.

Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to visit, but really need the tour to make the most of the visit. Without that, we would not have known what we were looking at or where to go.

Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Some friends an I took a day trip from Manhattan to Upstate Tarrytown to explore the legendary town of Sleepy Hollow. We were able to find sights on our own by foot. (I.e. headless horseman statue, the Old Dutch Church, Philipsburg Manor, Horseman bridge)

We did the evening Cemetery Tour which was very informative. I would recommend doing this when the weather is warm, as it’s a lengthy tour. By the end we were freezing. Also, you should visit the Cemetery during the day to get the views and good pics.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time exploring the resting place of Washington Irving, Andrew Carnegie, and Leona Helmsley. The fall air and the foliage was amazing. Very large cemetery with a lot of hills so bring your walking shoes. Would love to come back for the lantern tour.

Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Interesting place to visit, found the Irving grave easily as there were signs for it no problem. We spent around 1hr in here which was enough & did the headless horsemen Halloween show later on across the round at the manor, brilliant.

Thank jimb074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My mother and I attended the 2 hour classic lantern night tour on Halloween. We had Kristina as our tour guide. She was dressed up as a greek mythology person for Halloween. She was absolutely awful, just an incredibly rude person. We've done many different tours from many different places and this is the first time I've ever had to write a bad review about a tour guide. The cemetery itself is beautiful and huge but because of her, she made our night miserable and we couldn't wait to get out of there. She is not a people person at all and I do not recommend this, nor will I ever do that tour again. This was definitely a Halloween we will remember but unfortunately, not in the good way.

Thank Gabby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews