We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Review of Kykuit

Kykuit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand home and grounds of this former Rockefeller estate offer a marvelous collection of modern sculptures, Chinese and European ceramics, fine furnishings and beautifully landscaped terraces and gardens.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hudson River Valley is as beautiful as you imagine and many wealthy people have built great homes along it to enjoy this view . Kykuit is exceptional so don't miss it . John D Rockefeller senior and junior were devote Baptists and did not drink , smoke , dance or womanize . Besides attending their finances they devoted their time to family , charity and art . Don't look for Jay Gatsby here .

I agree with all previous reviews except our guide Peter Haupt was beyond excellent . He indeed showed us many old photographs he had collected from archives showing the family , estate and gardens during different periods . For example the photos of the incredible gardens show the now lush Linden Trees as the small trees they were when planted . These gardens are not flat land with flower beds , the landscape architects moved soil and huge boulders to create natural looking winding paths . Think Central Park on steroids with unlimited funds well spent !

Nelson Rockefeller bought and installed many massive modern sculptures by important artists in ideal settings along the way. Like them or not they make the gardens come alive .

One walks the house and carriage house and can easily imagine this richest man in the world enjoying life . Not an overwrought gilded ballroom in sight .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaW952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    127
    30
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely tour”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a nice tour! The home is lovely and you get to see what you pay for, we did the Classic tour and saw a good deal of the home and gardens which are beautiful and the views of the Hudson River are breath taking
Our tour guide, Mary Lou was amazing! She knew so much, A few more photos of the Rockefellers would have been better, but this was a very nice tour and we enjoyed our time there.
A must for modern art lovers!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PRHOakland_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Classic Gilded-Age (and Beyond) American Garden”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The opulent gardens that surround the Rockefeller estate are an American Classic, and show
what can be accomplished when money AND taste coincide. The house itself is interesting, but
not of any particular architectural merit. The grounds, however, are exquisite and are well-worth
two hours of your touring time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful worthwhile tour”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We don't tour many homes anymore because we have seen so many few seem worth our while (see Biltmore East, Falling Water, Hearst Mansion) but my wife wanted to do a return visit but with me this time. The docent was very knowledgeable but didn't pretend to know if she didn't...she would find out. The views of the Hudson wwere magnificent as were the gardens. We did the Grand Tour and it was worth every dollar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jimberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour of the Rockefeller estate!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came here as part of a college reunion weekend, and the tour was outstanding. Despite the unseasonably hot day for May, we had a great time, and our guide, Christina, was wonderful --- very knowledgable, witty, and considerate of those with mobility issues. The mansion and grounds are spectacular, but the highlight is the viewing of the rooms upon rooms of modern art amassed and displayed in a whimsical fashion by Nelson Rockefeller. We took the "classic" tour and at just over two hours, it was just right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kykuit also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Yonkers, Westchester County
 

Been to Kykuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing