We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Very Best Donut I've ever had”
Review of Skaneateles Bakery

Skaneateles Bakery
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The Very Best Donut I've ever had”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My title says it all. Pit stop on a long drive home, saw the donuts in the window and decided to have a try. Wow so delicious. A nice moist cake and not too sweet. That's all I tried here, but I might go out of my way to stop back in. BTW I've tasted a Krispy Kreme fresh out the oven and this was beat that one by a mile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    68
    18
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buttercrunch Heaven!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have had the fortune of spending every summer of my youth on Skaneateles Lake! Which means enjoying the Buttercrunch Cookies at Skaneateles Bakery! Make sure you ask for the buttercrunch cookie and take a few dozen home! Love this bakery - even the new updated version! Huge bonus - it's across the street from Doug's Fish Fry!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank familyfuno4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Was here a few days ago and was not overly impressed with the food and the service was pretty bad. I ordered sandwiches for my children and then asked for the "adult version" for myself. Ended up with the exact same meal as my children. When I inquired at the counter, they snippily replied that I should have said indicated it more specifically (which I thought I did when I asked a question about it) . No attempt to remedy the situation, just a shrug of the shoulders from the counter person. Also ordered cookies from a surly girl, who could not bother with a "thank you" or any other verbal form of communication. Tomato soup was bland and sandwiches tasteless. Even my kids, who eat almost anything, gave it a thumbs down. Would not recommend this establishment. Head over to Joe's Pasta Garage, Doug's or Johnny Angels, where people will not cop a nasty attitude!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 300RJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best donut in the world - ever. And other good stuff.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've stopped in here a few times when visiting my wife's family's place on the lake outside Skaneateles. Always enjoyed the service and the food. Yesterday, I picked up a breakfast sandwich and some donuts - which I usually try to avoid. The chocolate frosted donut was simply the best ever - fresh, light, rich chocolate icing. My wife's vanilla donut was the same - pure pleasure sitting on the porch overlooking the lake on a July morning.

Today was more of the same - perfect breakfast sandwiches - not too heavy, not greasy, just right after a morning workout. My wife said the Cafe Kabul coffee was wonderful (I'm not a coffee drinker). Service is always prompt and friendly. Today I had the pleasure of meeting Katie, one of the owners, who obviously takes pride in her business.

Only downside is the place is small, so don't count on finding a table during busy times. But if you're looking for a breakfast or coffee/tea and a donut or baked good to go, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
177 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Grab place to grab fresh baked item”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We grabbed a few scones in the morning and they were wonderful. Nice crust on the outside and very moist. Pretty nice bang for your buck.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skaneateles Bakery also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Skaneateles Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing