We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice inside but waitress rude” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1820 House

1820 House
Ranked #14 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice inside but waitress rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recently we ate there. upon entering there were some empty tables and seating at the bar. we were told we needed a reservation which we didnt have but it was around 8pm. There were 2 men at the bar eating and said they would try to get us a table since they were regulars. They finally said we could get a table but food was limited because they only cook so much for the night but that was ok we wanted to stay. The waitress recited off the total menu . i wanted the steak but omit the lobster tail . We told her upon ordering that i have a seafood allergy. When the bill came it was 38.00 for the steak which i thought was high with no lobster. we asked her if she could make an adjustment. Then we also explained that it was suppose to come with red potatoes because she recited it as so We werent rude to her just thought i am only ordering a steak. She got so mad totally caught us off guard and left then brought the bill back and said I hope that makes you whole" she made an adjustment on the bill which was the right thing to do but her attitude was really rude. We liked the food that wasnt the issue but really treat your customers like that??

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thatsarap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    25
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointing visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I decided to try 1820 House because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. First, let me say that my husband enjoyed his steak and the waitresses were friendly. But, that is where the positive ends. We arrived on a Sunday evening and ordered our dinner and we waited and waited. I had ordered soup but again I waited. Finally, my husband said to the other waitress about my soup and she did bring it out quickly. It was suppose to be hearty potato soup but it lacked POTATOES and had a watery taste. Then we waited again. As I said my husband did like his steak but I ordered a shrimp dish and it was overcooked. The waitress asked if we wanted dessert but we said no - just our bill. We didn't want to have to wait again. When we got in the car my husband said I didn't want to say this but he didn't receive salad dressing on the side. We were celebrating our anniversary. To be honest, if we are in the area again we would not dine here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Continued Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have often dined here and have never been disappointed. On a cool Friday night we took friends who had never been here. They were very impressed! We started with the warming cup of seafood chowder, creamy and full of wonderful seafood.... not just potatoes! We each chose a different entrée and fought over who had the best. The Thai shrimp and chicken off the regular menu was a stand by favorite, and the Scallop special was fantastic! The Yellow fin Tuna was a surprising treat and the steak was cooked perfectly and paired with the most amazing potatoes. Of course Rich worked his magic on the spinach ... even if you are not a spinach fan, you will love his preparation! We finished with the seasonal apple crumble served warm with ice cream on top. A wonderful evening with friends that wasn't rushed but always with attentive service. Definitely the best fine dining in the Skaneateles area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suebee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfectly delicious experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We can honestly say that the 1820's House has totally spoiled us. This restaurant sets the bar for delicious tastes! We have traveled near and far in the U.S. and beyond,sampled numerous dining venues and still say that the 1820's is our favorite. From wines to seafood the 1820's House has their finger on the pulse for the delectable best.They only use the freshest, most wholesome local ingredients when they can and are seriously selective about any other products they present. From the homemade soups and sauces to unbelievable desserts you won't believe your tastebuds. The rustic ambience and breathtaking views set atop the East side of Skaneateles lake make for perfect viewing of sunsets or watching the cloud formations. This truly family run business is beyond a special treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliebourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
229 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and an incredible sunset!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful meal at the 1820 House outside the village of Skaneateles. We both chose specials of the night: veal marsala and halibut with panko breadcrumbs. Both were excellent choices with delicious vegetable sides of spinach, corn, and tomatoes. The halibut was particularly good served with a very light lemon butter sauce--nothing to interfere with the fresh taste of the fish itself. We dined on the outdoor deck and were treated to a spectacular sunset over the lake. Everyone on the deck was snapping pictures at various times as the sun slowly disappeared amidst beautiful shades of orange, pink, and pale blue. We had a perfect evening and hope to go to the 1820 House again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1820 House also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to 1820 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing