We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hosts, great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Louise's Lake House
Ranked #4 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2008

A wonderful B&B hosted by a very warm and accomodating couple. Rooms were impeccably clean and tastefully decorated - the breakfast was a delight. Would stay here again. Kim and Patrick Oneonta,NY

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank broeman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2008

As a single traveler, the welcome I received from Dale and Louise was wonderful! Sharing their home for a week was a treat with the comfortable decor, gorgeous outdoor gardens (Oh, the lilacs!), beautiful view of the lake, and blissful peace and quiet. I was impressed with my hosts' ability to recognize when I wanted to enjoy conversation with them, or when I preferred my privacy - not an experience I've had at other B&B's. Louise's attention to detail was evident all through the house, including fresh flowers in my room, beautiful eyelet curtains, and a readily available assortment of teas. Every morning brought a beautifully presented breakfast table setting which just hinted at the tasty feast to follow. The meal's presentation was lovely and the food absolutely fantastic (the omelette and coddled eggs were my favorite with the french toast and baked fruit worth second helpings too!). Both Dale and Louise were very helpful with their area knowledge and suggestions. When it was time to leave, I truly felt like I was saying goodbye to family - I'll certainly return when I'm in Skaneateles again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cessna152Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Few weeks ago my husband and I had just returned from a longer trip through Germany and Italy, when we decided to get rid of our jetlag and share our vacation experiences somewhere else than at home for a change. Never having been at a Bed&Breakfast but being experienced with Hotels in Europe, especially in France, we arrived at Aunt Louise`s Lake House...
It was wonderful ! We were warmly welcomed by Louise, who instantly made us feel at home ! Our room, the Tree Top Room was beautiful and truly cozy. Even the bathroom was another atmospheric addition to all the other well thought of details in the house. The two different breakfasts we had were enthusiastically prepared by Dale, who provided us with a delicious and yet so healthy start for the day. I never had cuddled eggs before !!
We were also glad of having had the chance to meet wonderful guests with whom we had so unexpectedly stimulating conversation. Last but not least Louise and Dale gave us useful and detailed information about the area, places to visit and to enjoy. We felt cuddled at Aunt Louise`s !! We warmly recommend this place to you !

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 17collodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

We recently enjoyed a short stay at Aunt Louise's and highly recommend this charming B&B. We had called many B&Bs and inns that we found through Trip Advisor but found most places were either booked or very pricey. Skaneateles is a quaint town in the Finger Lakes area that is quite popular with New Yorkers and as such is a busy weekend destination. We found Aunt Louise's through the Chamber of Commerce and are extremely glad we did. Although we were only staying for the last night of our trip, Dale and Louise eagerly welcomed us and treated us as if they had known us for years. We stayed in the Sunrise room and had the best sleeping night of our entire week long visit to the Finger Lakes area. The breakfast feast Dale & Louise prepared compares wonderfully and even exceeds many other B&Bs we've stayed at during our 15 years of staying at B&Bs. We tried a few different dishes we had never heard of and Louise was quick to offer an alternative to one of the main dishes. Many people run B&Bs but it takes special people to truly make one feel as if they are at a home away from home. Although this B&B is roughly 4 miles from the center of town, the drive is very scenic and being away from the bustle of town was a plus for us. This is a reasonably priced B&B for the area and you won't be disappointed with this choice.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skaneateles hotels
4.4 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
5.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
738 reviews
4.4 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lady of the Lake Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
4.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aunt Louise's Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Louise's Lake House

Address: 2498 E Lake Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9034
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage 1837 tastefully furnished B&B overlooking Skaneateles Lake. Enjoy park like setting in warm weather months or relax by wood burning fire in crisp winter months. A delicious continental breakfast is a perfect way to start the day at this beautiful B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing