We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, intimate B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Louise's Lake House
Ranked #4 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy, intimate B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This comfortably restored and furnished19th century farmhouse sits on a nicely landscaped, treed and grassy slope with a lovely view of the lake out over attractive waterfront homes lying across the road below it. The owners, Louise and Dale Zabel, were the kindest and most helpful of hosts and prepared fabulous breakfasts. We spent 4 nights in the Tree Top Room and highly recommend it to any couple seeking a relaxing getaway. It was our first visit to beautiful Skaneateles and we hope to return. If we do, we'd like to stay at Louise and Dale's comfy home again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Tree Top room. It's on the front side of the home with views of the lake, and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Dale and Louise have been in this business for 11 years and have mastered their craft. Both are very hospitable and gracious. The home is spotless and welcoming. Stayed in the Sunrise Room with the adjacent bathroom. Room was on the small side especially due to the sloping ceiling but most of our time while in the house was spent in the common room. Breakfasts were wonderful!! Louise has excellent suggestions of what to do in the area based on your interests. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very relaxing B&B...very homey. Dale and Louise are the sweetest. The common room is very comfortable, complete with a fireplace. We felt very at-home in the evening, playing games there. All three bedrooms are on the second floor...stairs very steep so this will be a draw back for anyone having trouble with stairs. We stayed in the room with the bathroom in the hallway outside the room, but this was not an inconvenience. The breakfast is phenominal...never had coddled eggs before and would love to have them again! Complete with warm bathrobes, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumrbabe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We just needed a quick night away. Aunt Louise's was just that ! Relaxing, quiet, charming. Breakfast was truly amazing.
We loved our tree tops room, enjoyed the bath, magazines, robes, and cream sherry. Attention to detail was much appreciated. An older home, made to feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at Aunt Louise's B&B a couple of nights ago. We had never been to Skaneateles before or heard of it but apparently some very wealthy people have. It is a charming town with lots of stores, restaurants and activity. The town is directly on the lake and has been able to keep it's charm, so has "Aunt" Louise. The100 yrs old home is located across the road from the lake but still has a view. The yard is pretty and well maintained. Inside is a spacious living room with fire place. Unfortunately for us the weather was very warm so no fire and I am glad that the room had air comditioning. We had one of the smaller rooms but still not so small it was cramped, very comfortable bed. Our bath was just outside the room there were robes provided and Iam glad since I don't pack one when traveling. Everything was immaculate and inviting. The bath was pretty small but with old homes the owners have to eke-out space for baths. The other rooms do have private in room baths and are also very pretty.
Now to the best part the breakfast! We had a French toast that was mmmmm.... also on the lovely table was fresh fruit, this time peaches, juice. Because we do not eat pork they provided turkey bacon. So very thoughtful. We found the owners friendly, warm and sincerly hoping to provide for their guest. I definetly would stay again.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. However I love a tub and would choose the one with the claw foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hosts Dale and Louise Zabel are the consummate hosts. Upon arrival, they not only showed us around, but they also offered welcome drinks and made dinner reservations for us. Then, next morning, we were treated to a beautiful breakfast. The food was so good and the table so pretty that we wished for a longer stay. We were told that each day of our stay would include different tableware and linens. If only we'd been there five days, we could have experienced their full array of table magnificence.

The house is immaculate, the grounds are lovely. We enjoyed early rising, turning on the already loaded coffee maker, and sitting in the garden with morning coffee and magazines. What a peaceful way to start the day.

Thank you, Dale and Louse, for making our stay in "Skinny Atlas" a memorable one!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was our first time in Skaneateles and at Aunt Louise's Lake House. Dale and Louise were wonderful hosts and breakfast was lovely. I especially loved the broiled grapefruit and Dale's famous juice, Skaneateles Sunrise (a mixture of orange juice and cranberry juice) perfectly layered together making it a great start to a wonderful day of shopping. Dale was kind enough to explain were the good restaurants were and some of the lake's history. Aunt Louise's is just a 5 minute drive to a beautiful town with the charm of years gone by. We will be returning to Skaneateles and we will be sure to drop by Aunt Louise's Lake House again. They are wonderful people and they make you feel at home. Thank you for the wonderful stay Dale and Louise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
5.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.4 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
9.4 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
4.4 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aunt Louise's Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Louise's Lake House

Property: Aunt Louise's Lake House
Address: 2498 E Lake Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9034
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage 1837 tastefully furnished B&B overlooking Skaneateles Lake. Enjoy park like setting in warm weather months or relax by wood burning fire in crisp winter months. A delicious continental breakfast is a perfect way to start the day at this beautiful B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing