We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of Packwood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Packwood House
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just love this place and stay here when we really want to celebrate. It has a wonderful view of the lake and the rooms have been updated and are really nice. We can't wait to stay there again. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skaneateles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
37
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is s group of rooms associated with the Sherwood Inn 2 buildings away on the same side of the street. The accommodations are first class with all new furnishings. While it does not have the charm of the 1807 Sherwood Inn, it is more comfortable with new furnishings and larger room. The free breakfast is available at the Sherwood. Great location - directly across from the town park / beach and a very comfortable walking distance from the town shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side - 3rd floor - great views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Recent stay for my wife and I. 3 days in this quaint, picture post card little town on the lake. It is like going back in time, band plays in the park on Friday pm, only 1 chain store in town, and some great food. People are actually friendly, shops are lovely.
We will stay there again as we visit there 2-3 times per year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaretville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

No rooms at the historic Sherwood inn so we were put just a half block away at their property- thenewly redone Packwood house. Lucky for us to be "relegated" to this location because we were surprised by A very nicely done room with an upscale looking upholstered headboard, soft linens and a tile and granite bathroom. The room felt like a high end boutique hotel and though we opted for their least expensive "queen" we had a nice view of the lake and plenty of space. Extremely quite and as promised, really good coffee and pastries were waiting in the hall in the morning. A quick getaway in skaneateles on a beautiful August day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Run by the Sherwood Inn just down the street.
Very nice. Very quiet, large, well appointed room.
EXCELLENT mattress.
Overlooking the Lake.
Right in town - can walk anywhere.
Continental breakfast in the hallway was very nice.
One of the better places that I have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiGeR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Packwood House because the Sherwood Inn was booked. It ended up being so perfect for our family. Our room was a King suite with a sofa bed. It was spacious and clean, and The Sherwood House manages the property so we had all the same amenities. We loved Skaneatles and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spin4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a wedding, and enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is well located, right in the middle of the small town. It is the sister (and limited service option) of the Sherwood Inn. The rooms and lobbies are all quite clean and looked like they have recently been redone. However, I would not consider it a full service hotel as no food options (other than a very limited continental breakfast station) or hotel employees are on site; all are a block away at Sherwood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
2.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.7 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packwood House

Property: Packwood House
Address: 14 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Packwood House is a stylish, lakeside retreat located in the center of the quaint historic village of Skaneateles on the north shore of Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of the Finger Lakes. The Packwood House located a half block away from the Sherwood Inn, offers 19 comfortable guest suites, many of which provide picturesque views of the lake and the village. Many of our guests enjoy the original photographic art which is on display throughout Packwood House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Packwood House Hotel Skaneateles
Packwood Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing