We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surreal experience...”

The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: $27 - $58
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our dining incorporates the spirit of wellness and balance by spotlighting local products and organic whenever feasible. We take great care to use the culinary talents of our team to incorporate house made baked goods, aged beef, Finger Lakes produce and cheeses into your stay with us. The Dining Room at Mirbeau takes the form of The French themed dining room every evening when the lights are dimmed and the music gets a little progressive. Classic table-side Caesar Salad as well as seafood flown in fresh daily complement the variety of comfort foods on our seasonal menu. Have fun sharing in this culinary experience.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I used are overnight stay at the Mirbeau Spa to relax and enjoy ourselves. The room was very "french chateau" nice and the beds were to die for, sooo soft and comfortable. BUT the dinner... worst of our lives. I was waiting for someone to come out and say we were on a reality TV show!!! 2 1/2 hours for just the appetizers and entrees.
Our med well steak was at best med rare after two returns to the kitchen. The lobster was like rubber. The caesar salad was soo strong with anchovies (and I love fish) it was awful! We had to flag down other servers for water refills, and waited at LEAST 1/2 hour with dirty dishes in front of us during each course. When I calmly complained to our server, all I received back was a blank stare and he walked off. The manager was very apologetic, but at that point all we wanted was to go to our room and RELAX!!!
Until there is a BIG change in the dining room, I would go elsewhere in Skaneateles for dining. P.S. The french fries are excellent !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marksr812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your experience in The Dining Room did not live up to expectations. We see that you had the opportunity to speak with a manager regarding this. We have also reviewed your notes with our staff and have corrected any issues that we have found. We strive to provide Four-Star, Four-Diamond service to our guests and hope that you will reconsider to be a guest at our table once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Mirbeau is beautiful inn, and the atmosphere is geared toward making you feel as if you've stepped into a 19th century French chateau. Everything at Mirbeau tends to be fairly expensive for the area, and some of cost is worth it... however, the food and service at the inn restaurant has much to be desired. If you're willing to wait 20 minutes or more for your appetizer to arrive, and another 20 minutes for your entree to arrive then this is the place for you. The dining room was not busy that evening and yet it was a 3+ hour excursion for appetizers and entrees for 4 people. Serving sizes are small for the price, for example, scallops entree consisting of 3 quarter-size scallops was $30. The server we had was unfortunately the worst waitress any of us had. She was managing 3 tables and still couldn't seem to pull it together. When our entrees were delayed, she asked if we wanted more bread while we were waiting... except we were never given any bread to begin with! :) Overall, the flavor of the food was good, but nothing spectacular to warrant the $300 bill we walked away with that evening.

Do yourself a favor... save yourself $100-200 and go to Sherwood Inn instead. The menu offerings are nearly the same (if not better), the service is great and the food (price, serving size and flavor) is better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FingerLakesLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience at The Dining Room. We strive to serve our guests with Four-Star, Four-Diamond service and meals. Please note that we have reviewed your comments with our staff and have corrected any service and menu issues we have found. We hope that you will reconsider and join us again at our table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We first headed to the wine bar which has enomatic wine dispensers which also guests to try at least three different pours per wine. It also gives people the opportunity to try expensive bottles of wine by the glass without having to buy a whole bottle. After a couple of glasses of wine we sat for dinner.
The package we bought included a three course dinner. I was expecting a limited menu that was specific to the package. No, each person can choose an app, an entree, and a dessert. I chose a 30 day dry age prime rib eye. My spouse ordered the fillet. We both got the table-side caesar salad. The person making the salad was super nice and had tons of enthusiasm making it for us and assured us it was going to be the best we ever had. After my first bite, i realized it was the best caesar I ever ate, maybe best salad ever. The steaks were very flavorfull. Everything we ordered was Incredible. We also ordered a bottle of wine (the wine list is pretty decent). We finished with dessert which both were very good.
.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SUFAN4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. We were happy to read that you were able to experience The Wine Bar before your dinner. We enjoy creating the different selections for this are of our Food & Beverage program and love watching our guests enjoy them. We are also happy that you chose our in-house aged beef. We carefully prepare menu items such as this, the filet and the tableside Caesar salad for the best possible dining experience. Thank you again and we look forward to seating you at our table for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Mirbeau is our fabulous little indulgence! Whenever we have something to celebrate, it's a given that we head out to Skaneateles (NY) to dine here. The menu is creative and always has so many wonderful choices, it's hard to decide! The ambiance is so intimate it really is lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you so much for you kind review! We are very happy that you visit us for your celebrations and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our family traveled to Skaneateles for my birthday. My husband had heard about the brunch at Mirbeau Inn and my birthday was on Sunday so it was a perfect fit. The setting is as if you were in Givernay, France in Monet's Garden. Despite the rain from Hurricane Irene, the lilies were flowering on their pads beneath the foot bridge. The brunch was exquisite with eggs, a selection of meats and twice baked French toast. There was a table of fruit, pastries and salads with homemade granola--actually everything seemed to be made right there and practically to your order despite the fact that it was a buffet. My one daughter is a vegetarian and it was no problem for her to find many choices--even the main meal dishes--one was with chicken and the other had penne with Mediterranean vegetables. And the dessert table--even my husband who swore off sweets years ago could not resist! We are planning another trip there for our anniversary and this time I think my husband and I will stay there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judym52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We are so very happy that you chose to experience our Sunday Buffet. We love seeing families and celebrations arrive on Sundays for this meal and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Dining Room at Mirbeau Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing