We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is the best part”
Review of Sherwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We went for a wedding. We wish we had more time to explore, but we didn't. I would go back in the summer for a long weekend trip. The reception was average. The are was not comfortable for the size of the reception. The open bar was limited and the dance area was too small.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpetrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed there for only 1 night on our trip to the east. It was not or first time there and we were pleased that the quaint inn across from the lake still had charm and was well run.The room we had - our choice- had no view but was so very quiet and charming. the parking was behid and convenient and the food was good and atmoshere great. I will visit again

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Staying and eating at this great old Inn was the highlight of visiting the Finger Lakes. The spaces within this architectural gem are a delight just to stand in and behold. Food was fine and wine list is top notch for a small inn. Some rooms are more polished than others but are priced accordingly. Plenty of happy clients fill this place. Friendly staff even at the end of the tourist season. Building faces south over the lake. Numerous rooms with lake view. Lovely community & shops as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbondOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

First the good...My wife and I arrived at this lovely historic hotel and were greeted by a friendly staff after a long day of traveling. Our room was lovely and absolutely spotless, even behind the difficult to move furniture which we always seem to have to move with all the chargers we end up plugging in between phones, i-pods, and laptops. Later the front desk staff provided helpful information as to local restaurants and other information.

Continental Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was not only plentiful but even included hot scrambled eggs in addition to pastries, fruit, yogurt, breads with cheeses and some cold-cuts. The wait staff was eager to serve coffee and juices which were included with the price. The room was at the front of the hotel with a lovely view of the lake.

Although I agree with a previous reviewer that the A/C unit is quite noisy, this is typical of an older historic property so it did not bother us.

So why not a top review?...The Bed!!! We are frequent travelers and the number one thing we look for in a hotel is a quality bed. The bed in our room was soft and there was no sleeping with two of us in it together. After the first night we should have asked for a different bed but everyone was so nice that I thought we would simply get a rollaway for one of us and be done with it. Unfortunately, the rollaway they delivered was the short folding type and so soft that even my petite wife was hitting the metal frame in it. We checked out after our two sleep deprived nights (although they did make some adjustment on our bill) as scheduled and unfortunately will not return to this otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbaerliny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Dinner at the Sherwood Inn first weekend in August.
Would not recommend this place - service was grumpy and disinterested, and the prime rib was tough, cold, and carrots didn't even appear to have been washed, crown and leaves still on them, and were dried out. Very hurried meal, for $25. Didn't even feel like having dessert and/or coffee, not that we were asked if we would like one or both. Very disappointing, especially since we had tried to go the night before but the dining room was in use for a wedding, so we had really been looking forward to it.

Would never go back there again. Better to wait in line at a less expensive place and at least get what you paid for. Fish and chips, burger and fries, or pizza are a lot less expensive and you wouldn't be expecting as much.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank WorldExplorer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Wonderful location, all the ambience you would expect from an old inn, superb restaurant but very noisy air conditioning in room 26, making a good night's sleep next to impossible.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMcClintock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Good: GREAT location, historic inn, sense of history, darn good breakfast, pleasant staff, good WiFi.

Not so good: Had to send both dinner entrees back (medium rare steak was nearly well done; soft-shell crabs were not soft shell, and inedible) but we ended up doing OK once that was sorted. Got free deserts as compensation. NO USABLE CLOSET in room; I'm not kidding. Tiny closet with no rod and no hangers, just two coat hooks!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank erudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
1.9 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range: $130 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For almost two centuries, travelers have come to the Sherwood Inn to rest and relax. The Sherwood Inn offers 25 comfortable guest rooms, each carefully restored and uniquely decorated to retain the Inn's original charm. Many of our guest rooms overlook beautiful Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of New York's five Finger Lakes. And always, our hospitality is enhanced by an attentive, friendly staff to make your stay comfortable and carefree. Lakeview dining is available in our casual Tavern and Front Porch or in our romantic, candlelit Dining Room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing