We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd like it there!”
Review of Sherwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
naples, fl
Level Contributor
418 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“You'd like it there!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

charming, large inn located across the street from the lake. If you reserve on line you can see all the rooms and pick what you like. Great bar scene, large martinis, very good food and service...worth a stay if you are in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    68
    31
    18
    7
See reviews for
46
153
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
511 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our second visit to The Sherwood Inn in two years. We will likely return again and again. It is so easy to travel around Skaneateles either on foot or by car. There are many things to do while there. We have enjoyed an annual sidewalk sale and the local farmers' market. We have enjoyed many of the restaurants in town and will continue to explore the area.

Our room was very comfortable. It was tended each day by a very good housekeeping staff. Many of the rooms have beautiful lake views. Many have sitting areas apart from the sleeping area. Many have both. The only drawback is that if your room is on the third floor, you must use the stairs. There are no elevators.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are much pricier than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
226 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pretty rooms, 4 poster beds and fireplaces in some, but housekeeping a bit sketchy. Shades in room dirty with bugs on them, water glasses in bathroom dirty, jet tub needed a serious scrub, coffee cups had dirt in and on both of them. Bathroom glasses in particular should be sanitized in dishwasher, not just rinsed out by the room maid. Bed not too comfortable. Nice location across from the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UWSall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We made a reservation for a party of 8 for an early dinner reservation. We had a gift certificate valued at 300$ from a company called "Select Registry". In making the reservation, we told the inn that we had this specific type of gift certificate, and asked if they would honor it. They gladly took the reservation. Upon arrival I just wanted to verify that the certificate was good for them before we ordered food. THANK GOD I did that! Was told that the restaurant and the inn were two separate entities. Thanks Sherwood Inn, now my party of 8 has to find a new place to eat. Guess the customer is always wrong in their eyes. Also, we spent over an hour to get there. Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is important to remember that this inn was built in 1807! From a historical standpoint, one can imagine the old stagecoaches rushing through the town back in the day, or strolling on the green across the street back at the turn of the century. While there are chain motels that have all the "modern technologies", that's not an issue for everyone! Frankly, I like the peaceful, convivial atmosphere of the lobby, tavern, and dining room, and it was nice to be in a place where you saw people actually conversing, and not parked around, poking at their electronics, or chattering on their cell phones. if you chose to indulge in this behavior, no one would say anything, of course, but you tended to see nicely dressed, well behaved patrons chatting and eating the delicious food, and just relaxing, which my aunt and I found really refreshing.
I brought my elderly aunt to the Sherwood Inn to spend the night. The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating during our stay, and assisted us with touring ideas, maps, made phone calls to check availability of venues, etc. I have traveled to this inn through the past 30 years for special occasions and getaways, so I have witnessed the ebbs and flows of different managements and owners, and I must say that the current owner has beautifully maintained and decorated the inn. It looks fantastic! They have made many upgrades while still keeping the traditional look and feel of the age of the inn. The inn, while not the cheapest, is very charming, and I think it is fairly priced considering everything. The complimentary breakfast is very good, and the view of the lake and the park is worth everything! The restaurant staff is helpful, flexible, and charming as well. The room we had was immaculate, and as always, we peeked into the available rooms to see how each room had been decorated, because each room is decorated differently. Lovely! We stayed during the week in June, and it was pretty quiet. I know that the summer weekends are very busy, and might be more boisterous. I have stayed through the years at the inn at different times of year, and have never been disappointed. Personally, I wouldn't bring young children there, but children are welcome. Bedding, toiletries and towels were top notch, and our room had a flat screen TV, though not all rooms did. Treat yourself and your loved one to a charming trip back to the days where class and elegance were present. I don't think you will be sorry!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2die4paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Established in 1807, this inn is one of our preferred stops when traveling east from Michigan to visit New England relatives. It is surprisingly quiet, its close proximity to US-20 notwithstanding. The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious. The restaurant/tavern on the first floor boasts a varied menu, a full bar, and a nice selection of local craft beers. The summer season sees this venue quite busy and vibrant. Those looking for the rather sterile and predictable offerings provided by large chain hotels should look elsewhere; however, those wishing to sample a quaint historic inn set at one end of beautiful Lake Skaneateles, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biblio-Michiganian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrestville, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located on lake Skaneateles it is a beautiful setting. The inn is old and quaint. Our room was on the small side of what we paid, and no comfortable seating in the room. The bed was too soft and slanted to one side, the faucet leaked, and the outlets were not located for convenience.

That being said all were friendly, the breakfast was top notch (the best hot buffet we have had in years), and the people in the dining room were the best! And the coffee was not bad also!

Room Tip: Can not recommend a room, but do stop in for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
1.9 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.6 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For almost two centuries, travelers have come to the Sherwood Inn to rest and relax. The Sherwood Inn offers 25 comfortable guest rooms, each carefully restored and uniquely decorated to retain the Inn's original charm. Many of our guest rooms overlook beautiful Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of New York's five Finger Lakes. And always, our hospitality is enhanced by an attentive, friendly staff to make your stay comfortable and carefree. Lakeview dining is available in our casual Tavern and Front Porch or in our romantic, candlelit Dining Room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing