We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming visit”
Review of Sherwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Ate at the Restaurant right before Christmas while visiting the small town of Skaneateles, NY for a holiday getaway and stayed at a nearby hotel.

We had a 6pm reservation, but showed up early at 5pm and were seated immediately, despite the restaurant being fairly full (only a few empty tables). The restaurant is very large and takes up practically the entire lobby of the Sherwood Inn. The ambiance is quite charming and was full of locals and tourists. There was a man dressed as Santa who walked around the restaurant, paying special visits to the tables with children. A couple a few tables away got engaged during our meal and elicited applause from the surrounding diners.

Our waiter Bob was very professional and friendly. The food itself was plentiful. The sourdough baguette and rye bread brought to the table wasn't my favorite and the house salad was very basic. But the prime rib and french onion soup was very good and the orzo pasta in pumpkin cream sauce with wild mushrooms, squash and brussels sprouts was DELICIOUS!!

A nice restaurant which we would probably visit again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 268 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Full disclosure -- I did not stay here. I stayed at a B&B in town. However this hotel leaves the doors open to all rooms that are not reserved and you are invited to tour them. We looked at 10 different rooms. Most are nice but small and poorly laid out. When we inquired about the price, it was 2-3X's what we were paying for a local B&B that was a block away and had a bigger room with breakfast included. The room we did like was over $300/night. That is a crazy price for the time of year. The dining room looked nice and we did have a drink in the bar, which was nice and cozy with a roaring fire. I would suggest you stay at one of the B&Bs and come here for a drink.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Crewze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan L, Public Relations Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

The Sherwood Inn offers 25 unique guest rooms. With no two rooms alike, our guests have a variety of room sizes and amenities to choose from. Many of our rooms have beautiful views of Skaneateles Lake, whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces, and all stays include a hot breakfast. Our rates vary depending on the room and the time of year. With the Dickens Christmas Festival taking place in Skaneateles during December, it is a very busy time for us, however we do offer specials during the winter months. With wood burning fireplaces in our Tavern, Lobby and Dining Room, as well as our old fashioned hospitality, we strive to make the entire experience of staying with us unique and memorable. We hope you will consider checking with us the next time you visit Skaneateles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from an overnight stay at The Sherwood Inn and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect and the staff are hospitable. We chose Room 31 and it had everything I wanted. Its a smaller room, but very intimate and has a lake view. They have a special after Thanksgiving, Sun-Thurs, $199 any room which includes $50 towards dinner during the stay and breakfast. Lake view rooms rate at $295 so this special is a great value. Take advantage after Nov 25th if you can, you won't be sorry!

The property has a B&B feel with the dining amenities of a hotel. Each room is individually decorated. I read a lot of reviews before booking here. This is a 200 year old facility. It is not dirty, but it shows the signs of 200 years. If you want a 5 star hotel with modern conveniences, this is not for you. If you enjoy old world charm, with an (almost) luxury feel then you will love it here. I say almost luxury because the room did not have bathrobes, in room coffee, or upscale bathroom products. Our bathroom could also be updated with a new sink and fixtures.

We stayed for both dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was much better than dinner. Its described as continental but also included scrambled eggs, home fries and ham. Also, wonderful berry muffins, delicious chocolate scones and the best granola I ever tasted (it comes from the bakery)! Dinner menu is limited but has enough variety for everyone. My husband had salad and steak, which was good. I had the french onion gratinee and seafood stew. The stew was good but I loved the french onion! We had coffee and dessert in the bar. It was disappointing, felt pre-made like many places offer. I was surprised given there is a bakery beside the inn.

Skaneateles is a beautiful lakeside community, both in summer and winter. There are many little specialty stores if you like that and is close to wineries.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love the Sherwood Inn and a recent trip confirmed once again, it's a great place to stay. The Sherwood is an old inn, dating back to the early 1800's, so don't expect shiny modern. Instead, look for a big old building, lovingly restored, with beautiful antiques throughout the second and third floors where rooms are located. Wi-fi and all the modern conveniences are there, you just won't notice them right away.

Best room are those facing the Skaneateles Lake. Backside, or "village" views unfortunately look out to the parking lot or roof top exhaust fans. Those rooms are lower in price, so it's a trade-off.

Favorite rooms are 24 and 38. Least expensive room is a small one at the end of the third floor; cozy and actually has nice views to the lake, but a tiny bathroom. Ask about that one if you want a good view for a lower price. This isn't Four Seasons glamour, but more like cozy, old and historic.

Very nice restaurant; breakfast in included in room rate.

Only downside: no fitness center on site, though nice walking/running right outside the door on sidewalks.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on Lakeside, third floor is more quiet than second and corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Sherwood and won't be our last. It dates from the 1800's and therefore does show some wear (would be suspect if it didn't after 200+ years of use!) Each room is different but all are charming. The food and bar are great and always interesting. The breakfast on the porch is also something we look forward to-fresh bread from the bakery behind the inn-great cheese-wonderful yogurt and granola-yummy scrambled eggs--if you want a full menu, full scale bacon/ham/sausage type breakfast there are lots of eateries that you can go to and pay for a full breakfast, but this one is included in room rate--and you get the great view of the lake while you plan your day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familylakehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a suite for over $300 in the expectation to get a nice room. Not so.
When we entered the suite we saw dirty and dated carpets. The furniture had seen better times.The worst thing we saw was a toilet that was not completely clean.
During the night we found a bug in th bed.
The restaurant has a varied menu and the food is acceptable. Not the service. Although slow, the waiter was in such a rush that he cleared the table while we were still eating.
After dinner, we went to the bar to have a coffee. No such luck, the espresso machine was out of order!

Room Tip: Having read previous reviews with similar complaints, I asked during the reservation if the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Sherwood Hotel is located just to the West of the centre of town across the street from the lake and is very convenient to shopping and sight seeing in town. The dining room was ok for lunch, my stop here was part of a 80+ motorcycle tour of the Finger Lakes, so giving that complexity to the setting all was good. Food was buffet style. Can’t comment on the wines or other drinks. The Sherwood looks expensive and I am sure it is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank next50years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
1.9 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range: $130 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For almost two centuries, travelers have come to the Sherwood Inn to rest and relax. The Sherwood Inn offers 25 comfortable guest rooms, each carefully restored and uniquely decorated to retain the Inn's original charm. Many of our guest rooms overlook beautiful Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of New York's five Finger Lakes. And always, our hospitality is enhanced by an attentive, friendly staff to make your stay comfortable and carefree. Lakeview dining is available in our casual Tavern and Front Porch or in our romantic, candlelit Dining Room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing