We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Tasty”

Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and Tasty”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything is fresh and it tastes it! You are in the middle of farm country and the salads are fresh, the eggs are fresh and the beef is fresh

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rsek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    24
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect burgers!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Love that you can order cafeteria-style and create your own (even with their already delish list of possibilities). I had one of the best burgers I've ever eaten at Johnny Angel's. I think it was called the 'sunrise burger' - it had an egg on top and I added some avocado--YUM. Not only could you order a scrumptious burger, but grab a beer fresh out of the iced cooler and a yummy side (sweet potato fries anyone?). There are picnic-style tables and kids toys to play with in the restaurant, so it is definitely geared towards families in a causal atmosphere. It took 10-15 minutes for our family of 4 to receive their order, but that is expected during a busy lunch hour. I will be returning soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This spot did NOT live up to its "Heavenly Burgers" proclamation. The 1/2 pound burger was nearly $9.00 and had no flavor. Our selection was supposed to be cheddar cheese on it, but we had to look to see if it was even there because the cheese didn't have any flavor either! The coleslaw was little more than chopped cabbage with no dressing of any sort. And the french fries were "shoe string" style with little left to enjoy. Will not go back any time soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bus_Pleasure_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual Lunch place”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Even though burgers are there specialty none of had a burger, one had a grilled cheese and 2 of us had a Portabella burger. All the items came with french fries and we weren't asked if we wanted something else, I declined the french fries and gave them back, I wasn't asked it they could get me something else The girl at the register where we ordered my have been fairly new and couldn't answer some of our questions about the menu items.
It was fine for a quick meal, you order at a register, they call you name and you go get your food. They had some "topping" that you could add on your own, this was good, but some of the bins needed to be refilled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaWeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Large place---long tables with checkered table cloth, lots of room to sit...its a burger joint, but in a swanky village so it is spotlessly clean, designed "rough" edges, etc.

Up front was a collection of toys in a corner...it is a family place...read on for more there.

Sun a.m.---for some b'fast not in a formal setting or "brunch", main option is this place in the Village.

Service line, cashier, several kids manning the grills. Eggs, sausage, hash browns, ham---bagels, donuts...cereal...you get the drift.

Everything is fried in butter I think...tasty as hell but bring the zantac. Other option there but just ordered what I guessed at...delicious but oh mama later!

We arrived at 8:45...only a couple locals ---seniors---in the place. One communal newspaper...being devoured by a couple---walked down the street got our own...came back and no more than 5 minutes later and several couples with kids appeared. Within 20 mins it was a tidal wave of 30 somethings all with rug rats in tow...outside looked like a stroller parking lot (when did those things get so high tech???)

The point---this is where all locals go after church for some grub---sure fire sign it is a good choice.

Just be ready for a million little ones on a Sun a.m.---food ok, just watch what you order.

I'll go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing