We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical hamburger joint!”

Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: American
Description: Gourmet Burger Family Restaurant with wine, beer, ice cream parlor, and full menu. 150 seats and open daily for breakfast too!
Restaurant details
Description: Gourmet Burger Family Restaurant with wine, beer, ice cream parlor, and full menu. 150 seats and open daily for breakfast too!
NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not your typical hamburger joint!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

If you want to grab a quick burger and fries...this is the go to place. It would be helpful to those who haven't been here to have someone 'greeting' and telling them how things work...order at counter, find a table seat, collect order, etc.
But the foot was great, you make it your way and just a good place to grab a burger for lunch...there are other items on the 'menu', too. And you can grab a good breakfast sandwich or breakfast .

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hey, it's a hamburger joint - what do you expect?”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We ate at Johnny Angel's today. This is our 5th time there. You can read the reviews by others and most of them are fair statements. However, if you can't figure out how to place an order because of inadequate signage perhaps you shouldn't be driving a car either. We have only eaten their burgers and they're good. They cook them exactly as you like and the fixin's bar lets you decorate your burger the way you want. It's a simple "burger joint" atmosphere. There ain't no waitress so you don't have to tip. Don't buy the bottled water because you can get a cup and free water from the coke dispenser machine. I only mention this because they have absolutely great tasting water. For about $18 two people can have a quick lunch of two thick burgers. I don't care for their fries, and those of most other burger type places, because you get these thin greasy fried shards of something that in a previous life had a few molecules of potato in them. I like nice thick fries that still resemble a real potato cut into a wedge. They are thing of the past at most places nowadays. Instead of fries the cole slaw is my choice. You won't leave hungry or broke. I recommend it if you are not looking for fine dining but a place to simply get some pretty darn good 1/2 lb burgers, cooked the way you like, for under $20. Since the fries are a part of the meal I give their overall food rating 3 stars but the burgers get four stars if evaluated as a stand alone item.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burgers!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

These are truly the best burgers around. Prepared fresh and exactly how you'd like it cooked. Plenty of topping choices...

Helpful?
Thank KQON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate for a quick lunch”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Johnny Angel's is a small, almost cramped, burger establishment in the heart of Skaneateles. On a cold December day it was a welcome warm port (& a quick lunch.) You give your order, pay,seat yourself, then wait 'till your name is called to pick up your food. The menu was fairly extensive with fish, burgers, turkey burgers, fries, grilled cheese, etc. They have a nice fixin's bar & unlimited soda from the dispenser, I always like that. They do jam a lot of tables into a fairly narrow space but we were just happy to find a warm place to eat.
My Angus burger was spruced up a bit by having it served on thick pieces of toasted bread. My burger was fine, fries were good. For 2 burgers, fries & drinks we paid about $20. Really, nothing wrong at all with this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice food, but the atmosphere is crappy, to say the least.”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I like the food here alot, let me make that clear. You even get a really cute packet of Curious George fruit snacks if you order a kids' meal. If only I could speak so highly of the rest of the place! One time while I was walking to one of the stores in town, I noticed a bag of bloody meat festering by the window. DISGUSTING. That's so not how you lure people into a hamburger shop. They should be more conscious of things like that. Not to mention the inside of the restaurant is terribly cramped and messy. Stuff all over the floor!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank girlpowr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing