We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Skaneateles?”
Review of Blue Water Grill

Blue Water Grill
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in Skaneateles?”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We eat here every couple of weeks in the Summer because its a great place to sit outside for a great meal overlooking the lake. Never disappointed by any dish, the Blue Water Grill is where we always bring out of town guests! Presentation, quality, menu selection & portion sizes can't be beat. The staff is always professional and courteous as well which is necessary because the line is out the door most nights. The guys doing the cooking are tops in my opinion as there are too many dish's that are sooooo good !! I can't list then all. Seafood, steaks, fresh crusty bread and the Shrimp and Scallop soup to start with. Try the bowl of steamers siting atop a wine and butter drenched chunk of Sour Dough bread. Nothing better anywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    236
    87
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

nice location, poor service. At $20 a plate waitress wanted to take entire food at drink order after taking ten minutes to approach table. what is this mcdonalds? would not recommend. place seemed chaotic. charming town. overpriced for a crappy deck with poor view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 533karenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy to be back!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great food, glass of wine, and musician playing on Sunday night. Just returned from a week out of town and was nice to sit down with family in a familiar place, with favorite foods, and no hassles. Good to be home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good breakfast; worst coffee in America”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

There are not a lot of choices for breakfast in Skaneateles. I had one of their skillet breakfasts, which was quite good at a reasonable price. The service was good. The coffee is perhaps the Worst Coffee in America (at $2.50). It is that concentrated coffee that is mixes with hot water. Just terrible. It amazes me that, given the many choices that restaurants have for serving good coffee, that these folks would choose this method. So, go have a good breakfast with nice views of the water, but get your coffee elsewhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“can be very busy”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Located on the water with outside seating too. This is a combine type of establishment. I mean is next to the Blue Water Grill is the Blue Goose. Both places seem to be interactive with each other. My girlfriend had the tuna with chutney dinner (medium) was delicious and she wouldn't give me any more than 1 sample!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Grill also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Blue Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing