We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friday Raw Bar”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Get there early for the Friday night Raw Bar. Grab a window seat if you can. Good drinks if you are willing to pay the added cost for a well-made beverage.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank travelerseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 625 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2018

We enjoyed our dinner here very much. The table overlooking the main street was wonderful. The food was very good. The service was a little off. Forgot to bring the salad at all and wasn't around to see if we wanted drink refills. Very pleasant, though. Would definitely return for another meal.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Murfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSherwoodInn1807, Guest Relations Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing this review to tell us about your dining experience at the Sherwood Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal as well as the view from your table. We are sorry that the service fell short of what we expect from our waitstaff, but pleased to know that you will return and give us another chance to earn a five star review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We had a very relaxing lunch with family. Casual elegance in this long-standing establishment. Plenty of tables with lake views. Butternut squash bisque was delicious. Good selection of local wine. Classic.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TinleyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Excellent food in a peaceful town. We had lunch here. The service was quick and the portions were of a good standard. The onion soup is excellent, the cod fish was special and tasty. Recommended place for dinner or lunch.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank shayb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Anyone passing through this area should do themself a favor and stop at this historic inn on the lake for lunch or dinner. My wife and I recently did both while spending a few days in Skaneateles. The atmosphere, view of the lake, food and drink are all first rate, as is the service.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing