We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Full of character”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Viewing the variety of rooms is so much fun if you come early before other guests. We also love the tavern and the restaurant. To sit on that porch with the windows open or sit in the tavern on a cold winters night are equally as special with their own seasonal charm. So often a place with so much character lacks consistent and excellent food. We have visited and eaten there over 5 times in the last 2 years and have never been disappointed. As Washington DC types (don't hold that against us) we have a wide variety of experience within blocks but Skaneatles and the Sherwood would be our first choice if we could magically transport ourselves over the 6 hour drive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank deandebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    158
    52
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Fall Lunch”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch on the porch of the Inn today. The food was very good, priced well and the Inn is charming. You can't beat the view of the lake. We wouldn't hesitate to go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeVon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlton, Qc.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was nice enough for our group to make a return visit. The first night we sat in the Pub side; the second night we were in the dining room. The Pub was a busy place but it was fun. The staff was helpful with our choices and everything was served nicely. One in the group sent his fries back as they were cold, and another serving was brought very quickly with apologies.
The second time was more disappointing. There were four of us. One person ordered the strip steak sandwich which was not good and upon complaining, was not charged for her meal.
That was fair.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKSSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely historic inn”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Liked - gorgeous main inn -- lots of charm and a lovely dining room and porch dining area. Not so much: they own other properties in the area and you might be stashed in one of those. Limited parking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank htwollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanticoke,pa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“don't miss the pot roast”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

excellent food....good service.....pleasant atmosphere.....beautiful location. what more can I say? Oh yes, it was my birthday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing