We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped here since our normal place was closed on Monday. The food is just down right excellent. Solid, perfectly cooked, great selection, and great service. Great atmosphere and decor, good prices. We sat inside, but they have great views of the lake as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    158
    52
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Always good food and lovely ambience”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The menu varies with the season and everything is fresh and often local. We like to eat on the porch. Same menu but more casual looking out to the lake. Never miss their au gratin potatoes with your entree. Great soups and salads. Tonight the baked cod was outstanding. Flown in fresh today from The Cape.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal with a View to Match”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had dinner here as part of our anniversary celebration. Perfect choice for fine dining. Our reservations were for 6:00, we only had a short wait, as the Seafood Musicfest was still going on outside. Great table on the front porch by the windows, overlooking the lake. We went with the Prime Rib Special, root veggies and mashed potatoes. Everything was cooked perfect, barely any waste on the Prime Rib. Dessert was a type of yellow cake, with a strawberry/rhubarb and white cream filling. Excellent choice too. Even though it was very busy, our service was spot on. No complaints here! Price was what you would expect to pay in an inn such as this. And you can't beat the view!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaP103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“History and lunch too!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at the Sherwood Inn, the salads were fresh and different - chicken with balsamic vinegar, and the open faced Reuben sandwiches were wonderful. The Inn is a historic restaurant that makes you feel like you stepped back in time. We ate in the room with the bar, but there were several rooms that all looked like fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catladyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful view”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Love the feeling of this place. Good service, relaxing and comfortable, we love dinner there. Definetly a great romantic date place. The Tavern burger is as big as your face, and really perfectly cooked. We love the salads too. Love to eat on the porch or in the dining room, great view of the lake acrossed the street. I always forget reservations and sometimes that bites me. Last night there were tables empty for 45 minutes but they said there reservations were booked. Not sure what the deal was? The service is not that fast generally, but enjoy the company you are with and the atmosphere, all part of the experience. Sadly, they don't like to serve to late on the porch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CACCortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing