We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and value”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had lunch and it was excellent and a good value for what you received. Will not go away hungry. Service was excellent. Only negative is that it took 20-30 minutes after ordering to receive our food. Only ordered sandwiches and couldn't understand the hold up. It was 3:00 in the afternoon and not crowded. Sat in the screened room area which provides a great view of the lake across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmp907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    158
    52
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sanborn, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food and tavern”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This review is for the tavern, not the dining room or inn. The food was excellent. I had the Yankee pot roast and my wife had the open steak sandwich with sweet potato fries. We loved both meals. We were hungry after walking around town and taking a boat ride. We would definitely eat at the Sherwood again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pekinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Skaneateles NY.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Every course from lobster bisque to the salads, to the main course and always desserts. The seafood comes from Foley's in Boston. There is a selection of craft beers and wines. We eat here 2-3 times a year. See you next time .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dinner on the veranda”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited Sherwood Inn for dinner on a recommendation. We had a long wait of 45 minutes so we wandered around Skaneateles. We were seated by the window on the veranda and ordered the house special, prime rib. Prime rib was good, but the mashed potatoes were warmed up and stiff, as were the baked potatoes. Vegetables were skimpy and overcooked and shrivelled. Great wine from Anyela's Vineyard, and good local beer.Service was ok, the restaurant was hosting a wedding, so everything was slow, and we had to ask for butter for the bread three times.
Considering the food was $27 per plate, it was over priced for what we got, and the service was just ok. Not the best experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveJibacoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place with a view of Skaneateles”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I had an early dinner here in the tavern. Noisy, but fun atmosphere. Too noisy for those with cheap hearing aide or just failing ears. Nice view of the lake. My wife had a decent burger and I had pot roast that was very good. Topped it off with a local lager that was fine.

Food not on par with the Brewster Inn, nor does it try to be.

In short, a fun place for drinks, lunch or dinner at reasonable prices in a beautiful Town. Skaneateles is a destination, the restaurant isn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing